Tour de France 2023: Hindley wins first Pyrenees stage to take yellow

Jai Hindley - Tour de France 2023: Hindley wins first Pyrenees stage to take yellowfoto: Cor VosJai Hindley attacks from the breakaway in the last kilometres of the last climb of the day, the Col de Marie Blanque. The Australian solos to victory, while Jonas Vineggaard drops Tadej Pogacar to put more than 1 minute into his big rival. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 5th stage 2023 Tour de France

1. Jai Hindley (aus)
2. Giulio Ciccone (ita) + 0.32
2. Felix Gall (aus) s.t.
4. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) s.t.
5. Jonas Vingegaard (den) + 0.34
6. Mattias Skjelmose (den) + 1.38
7. Daniel Felipe Martínez (col) s.t.
8. Tadej Pogacar (slo) s.t.
9. David Gaudu (fra) s.t.
10. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) s.t.

GC after stage 5
1. Jai Hindley (aus)
2. Jonas Vingegaard (den) + 0.47
3. Giulio Ciccone (ita) + 1.03
4. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) + 1.11
5. Adam Yates (gbr) + 1.34
6. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 1.40
7. Simon Yates (gbr) s.t.
8. Mattias Skjelmose (den) + 1.56
9. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) s.t.
10. David Gaudu (fra) s.t.

12. Romain Bardet (fra) + 2.36
14. Mikel Landa (spa) + 3.13
17. Ben O’Connor (aus) + 3.34
16. Pello Bilbao (spa) s.t.
20. Egan Bernal (col) + 4.00

Race report
Pierre Latour is the first rider to open up a gap. He is caught by the peloton after 19 kilometres, while the attacks keep flying. Eventually a group of 32 riders distances the peloton. The likes of Van Aert, Pedersen, Uran, Dani Martínez, Madouas, Chaves, Soler, Jorgenson, Gall and Alaphilippe are on board, as are GC riders Hindley and Ciccone.

Van Aert, Pedersen, Campenaerts and Coquard jump off the front ahead of the intermediate sprint. Coquard bests Pedersen in the uphill sprint before he sits and waits for the chasers. The other three open up a 1 minute lead.

Pedersen can’t follow the pace on the Soudet, while the two Belgians are caught with 2.6 kilometres left to climb. Gall, Ciccone, Neilands and Hindley push on with four before Gall strikes to reach the summit solo. The Austrian is the new KOM leader.

Fraile, Martínez, Madouas, Uran, Haig, Hindley, Buchmann, Ciccone, Jorgenson, Neilands, Van Aert, Benoot, Mühlberger, Chaves, Alaphilippe, Hamilton and Berthet rejoin Gall on descent.

Neilands goes solo in the run-up to the Col d’Ichère before Madouas, Lopez, Paret Peintre, Van Gils, Tejada, Campenaerts and Burgaudeau rejoin the chasers. Van Aert and Alaphilippe go after the lone leader with 43 kilometres to go en the make the catch in the Ichère descent.

The trio are caught on Col de Marie Blanque. Gall and Hindley leave the others behind before the Aussie continues on his own in the last 2 kilometres of the climb. On the lower slopes, the GC group is down to Pogacar, Vingegaard and Kuss and then it’s the reigning Champion who launches an attack. The Dane reaches the summit 1 minute behind Hindley and 36 seconds ahead of Pogacar.

While the four riders behind him come together, Hindley solos to a commanding victory. Vingegaard does all the pulling in the background, obviously he lacks the power to sprint for the remaining bonus seconds. Ciccone finishes in second, Gall in third.

Stage winner Hindley is the new maillot jaune, with Vingegaard in second en Ciccone in third.

Another interesting read: route 5th stage 2023 Tour de France.

Tour de France 2023 stage 5: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Jai Hindley

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites stage 5: Attackers in first mountain race - Tour de France 2023 The Route - Tour de France 2023 Riders - Tour de France 2023 Withdrawals - Tour de France 2023 Results - Tour de France 2023 GC Favourites - Tour de France 2023
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!