Tour de France 2023: Izagirre wins from the breakaway, Vingegaard still leader

Ion Izagirre - Tour de France 2023: Izagirre wins from the breakaway, Vingegaard still leaderfoto: Cor VosIon Izagirre strikes on the last climb of the day, Col de la Croix Rosier, and he solos to victory. Mathieu Burgaudeau outguns Matteo Jorgenson for the second place, whil Jonas Vingegaard retains the lead in the general classification. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 12th stage 2023 Tour de France

1. Ion Izagirre (spa)
2. Mathieu Burgaudeau (fra) + 0.58
3. Matteo Jorgenson (usa) s.t.
4. Tiesj Benoot (bel) + 1.06
5. Tobias Halland Johannessen (nor) + 1.11
6. Thibaut Pinot (fra) + 1.13
7. Guillaume Martin (fra) s.t.
8. Dylan Teuns (bel) + 1.27
9. Ruben Guerreiro (por) s.t.
10. Victor Campenaerts (bel) + 3.02
– peloton + 4.14

GC after stage 12
1. Jonas Vingegaard (den)
2. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 0.17
3. Jai Hindley (aus) + 2.40
4. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) + 4.22
5. Pello Bilbao (spa) + 4.34
6. Adam Yates (gbr) + 4.39
7. Simon Yates (gbr) + 4.44
8. Tom Pidcock (gbr) + 5.26
9. David Gaudu (fra) + 6.01
10. Thibaut Pinot (fra) + 6.33

Race report
Mads Pedersen accelerates from the gun and the attacks keep flying in the following 60 kilometres. Then Dylan Teuns gives it a go and Tiesj Benoot jumps to his wheel. Mads Pedersen tracks the two compatriots down, while Mathieu van der Poel, Victor Campenaerts, Thibaut Pinot, Matteo Jorgenson, Ruben Guerreiro, Andrey Amador, Ion Izagirre, Guillaume Martin and Tobias Halland Johannessen bridge across with 88 kilometres remaining. Jasper Stuyven and Julian Alaphilippe are the last riders to join the breakaway. The fifteen put 4 minutes into the yellow jersey group.

Van der Poel and Amador strike in the descent of the Col de la Casse Froide. The two open up a 40 seconds lead on the Col de la Croix Montmain before the Duch star goes solo. Alaphilippe, Stuyven and Pedersen can’t follow the pace in the chase group, while Van der Poel reaches the summit with a 20 seconds lead.

Pinot and Jorgenson go after Van der Poel on descent. They make the catch on the Col de la Croix Rosier. Benoot, Burgaudeau, Halland Johannessen, Martin and Izagirre also rejoin the front of the race.

Izagirre strikes 2.3 kilometres before the summit. Van der Poel tries to go with him, but he cracks and fades away. The other attackers reach the summit 20 seconds behind Izagirre. The Basque extends his lead to 50 seconds on descent.

The chasers refuse to work together and Izagirre solos to his second Tour de France win in his career.

The peloton crosses the line 4 minute later and Vingegaard retains the yellow jersey.

Another interesting read: route 12th stage 2023 Tour de France.

Tour de France 2023 stage 12: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Ion Izagirre

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites stage 12: Attackers in the Beaujolais - Tour de France 2023 The Route - Tour de France 2023 Riders - Tour de France 2023 Withdrawals - Tour de France 2023 Results - Tour de France 2023 GC Favourites - Tour de France 2023
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!