Tour de France 2023: Bilbao wins from the breakaway, Vingegaard retains yellow

Pello Bilbao - Tour de France 2023: Bilbao wins from the breakaway, Vingegaard retains yellowfoto: Cor VosKrists Neilands attacks from the breakaway with roughly 30 kilometres remaining. His former companions bring him back in the final 3.2 kilometres before Pello Bilbao sprints to victory. Jonas Vingegaard stays in yellow. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 10th stage 2023 Tour de France

1. Pello Bilbao (spa)
2. Georg Zimmermann (ger) s.t.
3. Ben O’Connor (aus) s.t.
4. Krists Neilands (lat) s.t.
5. Esteban Chaves (col) s.t.
6. Antonio Pedrero (spa) + 0.03
7. Mattias Skjelmose (den) + 0.27
8. Michal Kwiatkowski (pol) s.t.
9. Warren Barguil (fra) + 0.30
10. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) + 0.32
– peloton + 2.53

GC after stage 10
1. Jonas Vingegaard (den)
2. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 0.17
3. Jai Hindley (aus) + 2.40
4. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) + 4.22
5. Pello Bilbao (spa) + 4.34
6. Adam Yates (gbr) + 4.39
7. Simon Yates (gbr) + 4.44
8. Tom Pidcock (gbr) + 5.26
9. David Gaudu (fra) + 6.01
10. Sepp Kuss (usa) + 6.45

Race report
Attacks are flying from the gun. Vingegaard and Pogacar are among the riders stoking the fires, while David Gaudu and Romain Bardet can’t follow the pace in the GC group. Van Aert, Van der Poel and KOM leader Powless are also in the group, chasing at 2 minutes after 40 kilometres of frantic action.

Then a group with Bilbao, Barguil, Skjelmose, Zimmermann, Schultz, Asgreen and Chaves jumps. The seven open up a 30 seconds lead before Pedrero, O’Connor, Perez and Tejada go after them. Alaphilippe, Kwiatkowski and Neilands track the chasers down, but the seven do not come any closer.

The group Gaudu/Bardet rejoins the peloton before the Col de la Croix Saint-Robert. Asgreen is dropped from the lead group in the climb and he winds up in the chase group. He starts setting the pace and the catch is made with 86 kilometres remaining.

Neilands goes solo in the last climb of the day, the Côte de la Chapelle-Marcousse. The rider from Latvia reaches the summit 38 seconds ahead of the first chasers, Chaves, Bilbao, Zimmermann, Pedrero and Bilbao.

The five catch Neilands with 3.2 kilometres to go. Bilbao neutralises the ensuing attacks by O’Connor and Zimmermann before he powers to victory.

The peloton crosses the line almost 3 minutes later. Vingegaard stays in yellow ahead of Pogacar and Hindley.

Another interesting read: route 10th stage 2023 Tour de France.

Tour de France 2023 stage 10: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Pello Bilbao

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites stage 10: Attackers' paradise - Tour de France 2023 The Route - Tour de France 2023 Riders - Tour de France 2023 Withdrawals - Tour de France 2023 Results - Tour de France 2023 GC Favourites - Tour de France 2023
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!