Tour de France 2022: Withdrawals

Jack Haig - Tour de France 2022: Withdrawalsfoto: Cor VosThe 109th edition of the Tour de France set off from Denmark with 22 teams and 176 contestants. 40 of them pulled out during the race.

The Tour de France experienced its first riders leaving the race in the race with eleven cobbled sectors. Jack Haig, Michael Gogl and Daniel Oss were the first victims. They all crashed out of contention immediately, while Primoz Roglic pushed on until stage 15 before he decided to stop his efforts.

DNF stage 5
81 Jack Haig (aus – Bahrain–Victorious)
103 Michael Gogl (aut – Alpecin-Deceuninck)

DNS stage 6
186 Daniel Oss (ita – TotalEnergies)

DNF stage 6
174 Alex Kirsch (lux – Trek-Segafredo)

DNS stage 6
4 Vegard Stake Laengen (nor – UAE-Team Emirates)
32 Geoffrey Bouchard (fra – AG2R Citroën)

DNF stage 8
118 Kevin Vermaerke (usa – Team DSM)
136 Gianni Moscon (ita – Astana Qazaqstan Team)

DNS stage 9
52 Kasper Asgreen (Den – QuickStep-Alpha Vinyl)
71 Guillaume Martin (Fra – Cofidis)
142 Ruben Guerreiro (Por – EF Education-Easy Post)

DNS stage 10
2 George Bennett (nzl – UAE-Team Emirates)
31 Ben O’Connor (aus – AG2R Citroën)
188 Alexis Vuillermoz (fra – TotalEnergies)
203 Luke Durbridge (aus – Team BikeExchange-Jayco)

DNF in stage 11
37 Oliver Naesen (bel – AG2R Citroën)
101 Mathieu van der Poel (nld – Alpecin-Deceuninck)

DNS stage 13
152 Warren Barguil (fra – Arkéa Samsic)

DNF stage 13
75 Victor Lafay (fra – Cofidis)

DNS stage 15
11 Primoz Roglic (slo – Jumbo-Visma)
146 Magnus Cort (den – EF Education-Easy Post)
193 Simon Clarke (aus – Israel-Premier Tech)

DNF stage 15
13 Steven Kruijswijk (nld – Jumbo-Visma)

OTL stage 15
17 Michael Mørkøv (den – QuickStep – Alpha Vinyl)

DNS stage 16
33 Mikaël Cherel (fra – AG2R Citroën)
38 Aurélien Paret-Peintre (fra – AG2R Citroën)
44 Lennard Kämna (ger – BORA-hansgrohe)
78 Max Walscheid (ger – Cofidis)
194 Jakob Fuglsang (den – Israel-Premier Tech)

OTL stage 16
7 Marc Soler (spa – UAE-Team Emirates)

DNS stage 17
5 Rafał Majka (spa – UAE-Team Emirates)
168 Tim Wellens (bel – Lotto Soudal)

DNS stage 17
134 Fabio Felline (ita – Astana Qazaqstan Team)

DNS stage 18
62 Imanol Erviti (spa – Movistar)
82 Damiano Caruso (ta – Bahrain-Victorious)
191 Chris Froome (gbr – Israel-Premier Tech)

DNS stage 19
61 Enric Mas (spa – Movistar)

DNS stage 20
17 Nathan Van Hooydonck (bel – Jumbo-Visma)

DNS stage 21
63 Gorka Izagirre (spa – Movistar)
192 Guillaume Boivin (can – Israel-Premier Tech)
198 Michael Woods (can – Israel-Premier Tech)

In 2021, 43 riders did not reach Paris. Among them was pre-race favourite Primoz Roglic, who was badly injured in a crash on the third day of action. He stopped his efforts ahead of the 9th stage.

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
2 comment(s)

  • T. Shepard says:

    I find this a persistent problem, not just crowd noise, but loud motor noise picked up from the video feed from moto- and helicopter-mounted cameras. And not just Peacock/USA, but also GCN and Flobikes. Not just the Tour, but also other races. I agree with B. Goonan. Pay attention to balance please, so we can hear the commentary.

  • B. Goonan says:

    I have been enjoying watching the Tour on USA cable channel. Somewhere someone decided that the roar of the crowd is more exciting for viewers than being able to hear the commentators, Phil Liggett and Bob Roll, whom I enjoy listening to. Ever hear of audio balance! Bring back Phil and Bob!

Related articles
GC Favourites - Tour de France 20
More articles