Paris - Roubaix 2024: Impeccable Van der Poel wins with monster solo

Mathieu van der Poel pr - Paris - Roubaix 2024: Impeccable Van der Poel wins with monster solofoto: Cor VosWinning the first two Monuments until now, Alpecin-Deceuninck is on fire this season. Mathieu van de Poel adds another win to their talley with a 59.7 kilometres long solo attack in the Hell of the North. The World Champions wins Paris-Roubaix for the second consecutive year. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2024 Paris-Roubaix

1. Mathieu van der Poel (nld)
2. Jasper Philipsen (bel) + 3.00
3. Mads Pedersen (den) s.t.
4. Nils Politt (ger) s.t.
5. Stefan Küng (swi) + 3.15
6. Gianni Vermeersch (bel) + 3.47
7. Laurence Pithie (fra) + 3.48
8. Jordi Meeus (bel) + 4.47
9. Søren Wærenskjold (nor) s.t.
10. Madis Mihkels (est) s.t.

Race report
The breakaway takes shape after half an hour. Per Strand Hagenes, Rasmus Tiller, Kasper Asgreen, Marco Haller, Liam Slock, Gleb Syritsa and Kamel Malecki open up a 1.30 minutes lead. Dusan Rajovic and Dries De Bondt make it nine at the helm after a chase of tens of kilometres. Meanwhile, Jonathan Milan calls it a day after a crash in the first phase of the race.

Alpecin-Deceuninck sets the pace after the cobbles between Quiévy and Saint-Python, and the peloton splits. They catch the leaders on the asphalt after ‘secteur 26’.

Most pre-race favourites – Mathieu Van der Poel, Jasper Philipsen, Stefan Küng, Laurence Pithie, Stefan Bissegger, Mads Pedersen, Tom Pidcock, Tim Wellens, Nils Politt – are in the first group of 36 riders.

The first chasers are already 2.30 minutes in arrears when the riders enter the Trouée d’Arenberg. Mathieu van der Poel accelerates on the cobbles and Mads Pedersen, Mick van Dijke and Jasper Philipsen follow his move. The latter punctures on the asphalt, while Nils Politt, Stefan Küng, Laurence Pithie, Tom Pidcock, Tim Wellens, Johan Jacobs, Stefan Bissegger, Søren Waerenskjold, Gianni Vermeersch and Jordi Meeus rejoin the leaders.

Pedersen punctures on the next sector and Philipsen regains contact with the Van der Poel group. Meanwhile, Politt, Küng and Vermeersch surge clear from the front.

A regroupment takes place in the Van der Poel group the run-up to sector 17. The three leaders hit the cobbles 35 seconds ahead of the main group, but they are caught two sectors later. Still almost 70 kilometres remaining at that point.

Van der Poel strikes on sector 13 and he enters the cobbles between Auchy-lez-Orchies and Bersée with a lead of 18 seconds. The World Champion doubles the gap on the pavé.

He widens his lead to 1.35 minutes on Mons-en-Pévèle. Second by second Van der Poel distances his rivals. And his teammates Jasper Philipsen and Gianni Vermeersch, who are in perfect control.

Mads Pedersen, Nils Politt and Jasper Philipsen are the first chasers after Carrefour de l’Arbre. They are almost 3 minutes in arrears.

The World Champion wins the Hell of the North for the second year in a row and his team Philipsen sprints to second place for the second consecutive year. Pedersen finishes in third.

Other interesting reads: route and start list Paris-Roubaix 2024.

Paris – Roubaix 2024: video, route, profile

Click on the images to zoom

Mathieu van der Poel

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Overview - Paris - Roubaix 2024 Winners and records - Paris - Roubaix
More articles