Paris - Roubaix 2023: Van der Poel solos to victory

Mathieu van der Poel pr - Paris - Roubaix 2023: Van der Poel solos to victoryfoto: Cor VosMathieu van der Poel and Wout van Aert attack from the lead group on Carrefour de l'Arbre. The latter punctures and the Milan San Remo-winner adds another Monument to his tally. Jasper Philipsen outsprints Wout van Aert for second place. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2023 Paris-Roubaix

1. Mathieu van der Poel (nld)
2. Jasper Philipsen (bel) + 0.46
3. Wout van Aert (bel) s.t.
4. Mads Pedersen (den) + 0.50
5. Stefan Küng (swi) s.t.
6. Filippo Ganna (ita) s.t.
7. John Degenkolb (ger) + 2.35
8. Max Walscheid (ger) + 3.31
9. Laurenz Rex (bel) + 3.35
10. Christophe Laporte (fra) + 4.11

Race report
While approaching the first cobbles – after 82 kilometres – Jonas Koch, Derek Gee, Sjoerd Bax and Juri Hollman jump off the front of the peloton. The four enter the farm road between Troisvilles and Inchy 1.30 minutes ahead of the peloton.

Jens Reynders attacks from the peloton on the sector between Haspres and Thiant. Miles Scotson, Madis Mikhels, Anthony Turgis and Luke Durbridge track him down.

Jumbo-Visma speeds up on the cobbles between Haveluy and Wallers. They gobble up the five counter-attackers. On board are Wout van Aert, John Degenkolb, Christophe Laporte, Mathieu Van der Poel and Stefan Küng.

The star-studded group catches the leaders on the Trouée d’Arenberg, while title defender Dylan van Baarle hits the cobbles in the chase group. Laporte punctures on the asphalt, while Mads Pedersen regains contact with 91 kilometres remaining. Jasper Philipsen, Max Walscheid, Filippo Ganna, Laurenz Rex and Gianni Vermeersch rejoin the front a little later.

Laporte is chasing at 1 minute for awhile before he winds up in the peloton. Then he re-launches a chase with his team-mate Nathan Van Hooydonck and Florian Vermeersch. The trio closes in to 50 seconds before the gap goes out again.

Van der Poel accelerates on the sector between Auchy and Bersée. Degenkolb goes with him before Van Aert, Küng, Philipsen, Pedersen, Ganna, Rex and Walscheid regain contact as well.

The Dutch star goes again on Mons-en-Pévèle. Rex and Walscheid can’t follow, while the others are virtually dying in his wheels.

Van der Poel aims to attack on Carrefour de l’Arbre, but he gets boxed in between Philipsen and Degenkolb. The German hits the deck and Van Aert counter-attacks. Van der Poel regains contact and when the Flemish powerhouse punctures the Dutchman is alone in the lead.

Van Aert ends up in the chase group, 30 seconds behind the winner of Paris-Roubaix 2023. Van der Poel enters the Velodrome solo to win his second Monument in one month time.

Other interesting reads: route and start list Paris-Roubaix 2023.

Paris – Roubaix 2023: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Mathieu van der Poel

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Paris - Roubaix 2023 'Cobbled' Heroes - De Vlaeminck and Boonen - Paris - Roubaix
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!