Paris-Nice 2017: Favourites

To win Paris-Nice you have to be a strong climber with good time trial skills. Last year Geraint Thomas bested Alberto Contador by 4 seconds in the overall, so El Pistolero will be looking for revenge. But there are more favourites for GC-victory in Paris-Nice 2017.

[Article was written before the start of Paris-Nice and has not been updated since.]

Chances are the uphill time trial to Mont-Brouilly and the Queen Stage on the penultimate day will be decisive for the overall win in Paris-Nice 2017. Aspiring victors have to be alert on the hilly routes of stage 6 and stage 8, too.

So, the overall victor has to be a good time trialist and an outstanding climber. Ilnur Zakarin fits the profile. The Russian rider recently finished in second in the Abu Dhabi Tour after being outsprinted by Rui Costa in the Queen Stage. Contador showed good form in the Ruta del Sol, where his compatriot Valverde outperformed him by 1 second. Porte is another major contender for the overall win. The Tasmanian pocketed the Tour Down Under last January and is a two time winner of the Race to the Sun.

Quite a few riders who are still active in the peloton did win the Race to the Sun: Alberto Contador (2007, 2010), Davide Rebellin (2008), Luis León Sánchez (2009), Tony Martin (2011), Richie Porte (2013, 2015), Carlos Betancur (2014) and Geraint Thomas (2016). Besides Rebellin, Betancur and title holder Thomas, all these winners are competing in Paris-Nice 2017.

Favourites Paris-Nice 2017

*** Alberto Contador, Richie Porte, Ilnur Zakarin
** Ion Izagirre, Romain Bardet, Simon Yates, Daniel Martin, Sergio Henao
* Nicolas Roche, Steven Kruijswijk, Julian Alaphilippe, Tony Gallopin, Jarlinson Pantano

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
De la Cruz wins ahead of Contador, Henao overall winner - Paris-Nice 2017 Porte climbs to victory in Queen Stage, Sergio Henao new leader - Paris-Nice 2017 Simon Yates solos to victory, Alaphilippe still in yellow - Paris-Nice 2017 Greipel outsprints Démare and Groenewegen, Alaphilippe still leader - Paris-Nice 2017 Alaphilippe powers to victory and leaders jersey in ITT - Paris-Nice 2017 Sam Bennett outsprints Kristoff and Degenkolb - Paris-Nice 2017 Colbrelli outsprints Degenkolb after rain soaked race - Paris-Nice 2017 Démare bests Alaphilippe in sprint-à-deux - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 1: Bois d’Arcy – Bois d’Arcy - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 2: Rochefort en Yvelines – Amilly (Loiret) - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 3: Chablis – Chalon sur Saône - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 4: Beaujeu – Mont Brouilly - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 5: Quincié en Beaujolais – Bourg de Péage - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 6: Aubagne – Fayence - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 7: Nice – Col de la Couillole - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 8: Nice – Nice - Paris-Nice 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!