Milan - San Remo 2024: Philipsen outsprints Matthews in compelling finale

Jasper philipsen msr - Milan - San Remo 2024: Philipsen outsprints Matthewsfoto: Cor VosTadej Pogacar and Mathieu van der Poel are the first riders to enter the Poggio descent, but the remains of the peloton are not far behind. Ten more riders regain contact on descent and back in San Remo before Jasper Philipsen outsprints Michael Matthews in a close finish. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2024 Milan-San Remo

1. Jasper Philipsen (bel)
2. Michael Matthews (aus) s.t.
3. Tadej Pogacar (slo) s.t.
4. Mads Pedersen (den) s.t.
5. Alberto Bettiol (ita) s.t.
6. Matej Mohoric (slo) s.t.
7. Maxim Van Gils (bel) s.t.
8. Jasper Stuyven (bel) s.t.
9. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) s.t.
10. Mathieu van der Poel (nld) s.t.

Attacks are flying from the gun, but it takes 17 kilometres for the breakaway to get clear. Initially it’s group of eleven, but Lorenzo Germani sits up and waits for the peloton after 40 kilometres. The other ten – Valerio Conti, Davide Baldaccini, Kyrylo Tsarenko, Sergio Samitier, Romain Combaud, Davide Bais, Mirco Maestri, Andrea Pietrobon, Alessandro Tonelli, Samuele Zoccarato – race to a maximum lead of almost 3 minutes.

Christophe Laporte is dropped from the peloton on the Capo Berta, while the lead of the attackers has been halved at the top.

Samitier, Bais, Maestri, Pietrobon and Tonelli remain at the front at the summit of the Cipressa, but they are caught on descent after a crash.

Tim Wellens starts setting the pace with 2.5 kilometres to go at the Poggio. Pogcara strikes i=n the steepst section with 900 metres to climb. Some 20 riders close the gap before Pogacar goes again 200 metres before the summit. Van der Poel powers to his wheel, while Tom Pidcock is the first to regain contact on descent before Mads Pedersen, Matej Mohoric and Matteo Sobrero also make it across

Back in the street of San Remo six more riders bridge the gap. Among them Michael Matthews and Jasper Philipsen. Van der Poel does the dirty job of bringing back attacks by Mohoric and, later, Pidcock and Sobrero. The race then comes down to a shoulder to shoulder sprint between Matthews and Philipsen. The Belgian takes the win and thanks the World Champion for taking the first Monument in his career.

Other interesting reads: route and start list 2024 Milan-San Remo.

Milan-San Remo 2024: live tracker, routes, profiles

Click on the images to zoom

Jasper Philipsen

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Overview - Milan - San Remo 2024 Winners and records - Milan - San Remo
More articles