La Flèche Wallonne 2023: Pogacar extends his Classics collection

Tadej pogacar - La Flèche Wallonne 2023: Pogacar adds another Classic to his tallyfoto: Cor VosAs always, La Flèche Wallonne comes down to the last climb up the Wall of Huy. Romain Bardet opens with an attack, but Tadej Pogacar counters to fly to victory. Mattias Skjelmose finishes in second, Mikel Landa in third. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2023 Flèche Wallonne

1. Tadej Pogacar (slo)
2. Mattias Skjelmose (den) s.t.
3. Mikel Landa (spa) s.t.
4. Michael Woods (can) + 0.03
5. Giulio Ciccone (ita) s.t.
6. Victor Lafay (fra) s.t.
7. Tiesj Benoot (bel) s.t.
8. Maxim Van Gils (bel) s.t.
9. Romain Bardet (fra) s.t.
10. Warren Barguil (fra) s.t.

Race report
Jacob Hindsgaul initiates the breakaway before Søren Kragh Andersen, Johan Meens, Lawrence Naesen, Georg Zimmermann, Raúl García, Daryl Impey and Jetse Bol round out the group. The eight open up a lead of almost 4 minutes.

Kragh Andersen speeds up inside the last 60 kilometres until Zimmermann is the only remaining rider in his wheel. The duo enters the final lap 1 minute ahead of the peloton.

Samuele Battistella and Louis Vervaeke jump clear right after the passage on the Wall of Huy to rejoin the two attackers.

Vervaeke heads out alone on the Côte de Cherave and he reaches the summit 12 seconds ahead of the peloton. The Flemish rider is caught at the base of the finish climb.

The group remains closed until halfway up the climb and then it’s Bardet who ups the pace. Pogacar and Woods follow the move before the Slovene kicks again to ride to victory. No one is able to follow, although Skjelmose and Landa finish on the same time, they were never in a position to win.

Other interesting reads: route and start list 2023 Flèche Wallonne.

La Flèche Wallonne 2023: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - La Flèche Wallonne 2023
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!