La Course 2017: Annemiek van Vleuten powers to overall victory

At 22.5 kilometres, the 2nd stage of La Course is a pursuit in Marseille. The winner of stage 1, Annemiek van Vleuten, is the first starter, 43 seconds ahead of Lizzie Deignan-Armitstead. Van Vleuten powers to an impressive victory in the Marseille Velodrome, almost 2 minutes ahead of Deignan and Longo Borghini. (Slideshow route/profile)

Final GC 2017 La Course
1. Annemiek van Vleuten (nld)
2. Elizabeth Deignan-Armitstead (gbr) + 1.52
3. Elisa Longo Borghini (ita) + 1.53
4. Megan Guarnier (usa) + 3.00
5. Amanda Spratt (usa) + 3.26
6. Shara Gillow (aus) + 3.48
7. Lauren Stephens (usa) + 3.53
8. Katarzyna Niewiadoma (pol) + 4.35
9. Ashleigh Moolman Pasio (rsa) s.t.
10. Ana Cristina Sanabria Sanchez (col) + 4.46

11. Hanna Nilson (swe) s.t.
12. Sabrina Stultiens (nld) + 5.09
13. Pauline Ferrand Prevot (fra) + s.t.
14. Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (den) s.t.
15. Eri Yonamine (jap) + 5.11
16. Janneke Ensing (nld) + 5.13
17. Leah Kirchmann (can) + 5.44
18. Karol-Ann Canuel (can) s.t.
19. Ursa Pintar (slo) s.t.

Race report
Annemiek van Vleuten goes full gas, but the next starter Lizzie Deignan takes it easy until Longo Borgini and Guarnier join her. Then they start to chase. But without coming closer.

Van Vleuten crests the steep climb to La Notre-Dame de la Garde with a lead of 1’32”. Guarnier is dropped from the chasing group.

In the ensuing kilometres Van Vleuten widens the gap and she wins La Course almost 2 minutes ahead of Deignan and Longo Borghini.

Read also: route 2nd stage 2017 La Course

La Course 2017 stage 2: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Annemiek van Vleuten

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Annemiek van Vleuten climbs to victory on Izoard - La Course 2017 Route stage 1: Briancon - Col d'Izoard - La Course 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!