Giro 2023: Healy solos to victory, Leknessund still in pink

Ben Healy - Giro 2023: Healy solos to victoryfoto: Cor VosBen Healey attacks from the breakaway in the first climb up the Muro dei Cappuccini. He rounds out a solo of over 50 kilometres with his first Grand Tour stage win. Primoz Roglic, Tao Geoghegan Hart and Geraint Thomas win time in the GC battle, while Andreas Leknessund stays in pink.. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 8th stage 2023 Giro

1. Ben Healy
2. Derek Gee + 1.49
3. Filippo Zana s.t.
4. Warren Barguil s.t.
5. Carlos Verona + 2.12
6. Mattia Bais + 2.37
7. Toms Skujins + 3.51
8. Alessandro Tonelli + 3.56
9. Oscar Riesebeek + 4.00
10. Tao Geoghegan Hart + 4.34

11. Primoz Roglic s.t.
12. Geraint Thomas s.t.
14. Jay Vine + 4.48
15. João Almeida s.t.
16. Damiano Caruso s.t.
17. Jack Haig s.t.
18. Eddie Dunbar s.t.
19. Remco Evenepoel s.t.

21. Hugh Carthy + 4.58
22. Lennard Kämna + 5.08
23. Aleksandr Vlasov s.t.
25. Andreas Leknessund s.t.
28. Aurélien Paret-Peintre + 5.36
30. Thibaut Pinot s.t.

GC after stage 8
1. Andreas Leknessund
2. Remco Evenepoel + 0.08
3. Primoz Roglic + 0.38
4. João Almeida + 0.40
5. Geraint Thomas + 0.52
6. Tao Geoghegan Hart + 0.56
7. Aurélien Paret-Peintre + 0.58
8. Aleksandr Vlasov + 1.26
9. Damiano Caruso + 1.39
10. Lennard Kämna + 1.54

Race report
A lot of movement in the early climb. Ben Healy reaches the summit in the first group with Valentin Paret-Peintre, Carlos Verona and Derek Gee. The peloton keeps chasing for tens of kilometres before Toms Skujins jumps across after almost one hour of action. Warren Barguil, Samuele Batistella, Filipo Zana, Mattia Bais, François Bidard, Alessandro Tonelli and Alessandro Iacchi join the leaders after 80 kilometres, while Oscar Riesebeek makes it thirtheen at the front.

The lead group tackles the Muro dei Cappuccini with a 5 minutes lead. Healy strikes in the climb to reach the summit 40 seconds ahead of his former companions. He extends his lead with 1 minute on the Monte delle Cesane.

Healy crests the Muro dei Cappuccini for the second and last time 2.15 minutes ahead of the first chasers, Zana and Gee, before he flies down to victory.

Roglic, Vlasov and Leknessund attack from the peloton in the last climb of the day. The Slovenian keeps on pushing. Leknessund is struggling in his wheel, while Evenepoel tries to close down the gap. To no avail.

Geoghegan Hart and Thomas overhaul Leknessund and Evenepoel just before the summit and track down Roglic. The three descend into Fossombre and cross the line 14 seconds ahead of Evenepoel.

Leknessund comes home a little later, but he retains the pink jersey.

Another interesting read: route 8th stage 2023 Giro.

Giro d’Italia 2023 stage 8: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Ben Healy

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Milan keeps maglia ciclamino - Giro 2023 The Route - Giro 2023 Results - Giro 2023 stage 20: Start times Monte Lussari ITT - Giro 2023 Withdrawals - Giro 2023 stage 9: Start times ITT - Giro 2023 Riders - Giro 2023 GC Favourites - Giro 2023
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!