Gent - Wevelgem: Winners and records

Mads Pedersen gw - Gent - Wevelgem: Winners and recordsfoto: Cor VosSince 1934 Gent-Wevelgem is one of the Flemish classics. The route is peppered with climbs like the Kemmelberg along a string of cobbled sectors. Winds often play a crucial role in the race. brings you the records and recent winners.

Recent winners Gent-Wevelgem

2024: Mads Pedersen (Ben)
2023: Christophe Laporte (fra)
2022: Biniam Girmay (eri)
2021: Wout van Aert (Be)
2020: Mads Pedersen (den)
2019: Alexander Kristoff (nor)
2018: Peter Sagan (svk)
2017: Greg Van Avermaet (bel)
2016: Peter Sagan (svk)
2015: Luca Paolini (ita)
2014: John Degenkolb (ger)

Records in Gent-Wevelgem

The Belgians are in control in Gent-Wevelgem. The race was pocketed 50 times by home riders.

Six riders did win the race three times – Peter Sagan (2013, 2016, 2018), Tom Boonen (2004, 2011, 2012), Mario Cipollini (1992, 1993, 2012), Eddy Merckx (1967, 1970, 1973), Rik Van Looy (1956, 1957, 1962), and Robert Van Eenaeme (1936, 1937, 1945).

Mads Pedersen will equal those riders with one more win in Gent-Wevelgem.

John DegenkolbTom BoonenPeter SaganAlexander KristoffGreg van AvermaetWout van AertMads PedersenChristophe LaporteBiniam Girmay

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Favourites - Gent - Wevelgem 2024 Gent-Wevelgem 2024: Overview
More articles