Eneco Tour 2016 Stage 4: Sagan bests Greipel in close finish and takes GC lead

At almost 200 kilometres, the 4th stage of the Eneco Tour leads to a tricky finale as the final lap features both cobbles and nasty climbs. Nevertheless the race boils down to a sprint with Sagan powering to the win. As a bonus he takes the leader's jersey. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 4th stage Eneco Tour

1. Peter Sagan (svk)
2. André Greipel (ger) s.t.
3. Alexander Kristoff (nor) s.t.
4. Arnaud Démare (fra) s.t.
5. Dylan Groenewegen (nld) s.t.
6. John Degenkolb (ger) s.t.
7. Reinardt J. van Rensburg (rsa) s.t.
8. Amaury Capiot (bel) s.t.
9. Giacomo Nizzolo (ita) s.t.
10. Luka Mezgec (slo) s.t.

GC after 4th stage
1. Peter Sagan (svk)
2. Rohan Dennis (aus) + 0.07
3. Jos van Emden (nld) + 0.12
4. Andrey Grivko (ukr) + 0.20
5. Jasha Sütterlin (ger) + 0.21
6. Martin Elmiger (swi) s.t.
7. Wilco Kelderman (nld) + 0.22
8. Matthias Brändle (aut) s.t.
9. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 0.23
10. Taylor Phinney (usa) z.t

13. Tony Martin (ger) + 0.25
16. Tom Dumoulin (nld) + 0.27
36. Tim Wellens (bel) + 0.39
39. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) + 0.40

Race report
Brian van Goethem, Mark McNally, Bert Van Lerberghe and Sjoerd Van Ginneken race to a lead at 5 minutes, but when the pack accelerates they are brought back with 65 kms remaining.

Right now, team mates Grivko en Gruzdev are on the attack with a lead at half a minute. Tony Martin and Tom Dumoulin don’t manage to chase them down.

At the top of the steep Bruine Put climb Jasper Stuyven jumps to the front group. The climb itself was the Golden Kilometre and Grivko took a time bonus at 3 x 3 seconds.

With 2 kms left Stuyven is the last rider to be reeled in.

Peter Sagan outsprints Andre Greipel with the tiniest of margins. A photo finish is needed to decide on the winner. The World and European Champion takes a time bonus at 10 seconds and is the new overall leader.

Eneco Tour 2016 stage 4: Route-, profile maps and more

Click on the images to zoom

Peter Sagan

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Eneco Tour 2016 Overview - Eneco Tour 2016 Stage 7: Boasson Hagen wins stage, Terpstra the overall - Eneco Tour 2016 Stage 6: Pibernik brings early break home, Dennis retains in lead - Eneco Tour 2016 Stage 5: BMC powers to TTT win, Rohan Dennis in the overall lead - Eneco Tour 2016 Stage 3: Sagan sprints to win and second place overall - Eneco Tour 2016 Stage 2: Rohan Dennis races to ITT win and overall lead - Eneco Tour 2016 Stage 1: Groenewegen outsprints Bouhanni and Sagan - Eneco Tour 2016 Route stage 1: Bolsward (NL) - Bolsward - Eneco Tour 2016 Route stage 2: ITT in Breda (NL) - Eneco Tour 2016 Route stage 3: Blankenberge (B) – Ardooie (B) - Eneco Tour 2016 Route stage 5: TTT in Sittard (NL) - Eneco Tour 2016 Route stage 6: Riemst (B) – Lanaken (B) - Eneco Tour 2016 Route stage 7: Bornem (B) – Geraardsbergen (B) - Eneco Tour 2016
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!