E3 Saxo Bank Classic 2022: Van Aert crowns brilliant Jumbo-Visma team-work

Wout van Aert e3 - E3 Saxo Bank Classic 2022: Van Aert crowns brilliant Jumbo-Visma team-workfoto: Cor VosJumbo-Visma duo Wout van Aert and Christophe Laporte light up the E3 Saxo bank Classic with a two-up attack on the Paterberg, with 42 kilometres remaining. Van Aert takes the win, Laporte finishes in second. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results E3 Saxo Bank Classic 2022

1. Wout van Aert (bel)
2. Christophe Laporte (fra) s.t.
3. Stefan Küng (swi) + 1.35
4. Matej Mohoric (slo) + 1.36
5. Biniam Girmay Hailu (eri) s.t.
6. Valentin Madouas (fra) s.t.
7. Jhonatan Narváez (col) s.t.
8. Tiesj Benoot (bel) s.t.
9. Dylan van Baarle (nld) s.t.
10. Kasper Asgreen (den) s.t.

Race report
It takes more than 65 kilometres for the breakaway to take shape. Daniel Oss, Jelle Wallays, Brent Van Moer, Mathijs Paasschens, Ryan Mullen, Lukas Pöstlberger and Lasse Norman Hansen put 2 minutes into the peloton.

The race catches fire on the Taaienberg, with 80 kilometres remaining. Van Aert, Benoot, Laporte, Asgreen, Mohoric, Küng and Stuyven attack from the peloton to rejoin the leaders.

Narvaez, Ballerini, Sénéchal, Turgis, Van Baarle, Girmay, Madouas, and Gogl bridge across on the Eikenberg. Teunissen and Tiller regain contact inside the last 60 kilometres.

Van Aert and Laporte head out together on the Paterberg. The team mates crest the next climb, Oude Kwaremont, with a lead of 20 seconds, which they extend to 2 minutes.

The Jumbo-Visma duo finishes off a superb performance with van Aert crossing the line in first position. Almost 2 minutes later Küng edges away from the chase group to take third place.

Other interesting reads: route and start list 2022 E3 Saxo Bank Classic.

E3 Saxo Bank Classic 2022: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Wout van Aert

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - E3 Saxo Bank Classic 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!