Critérium du Dauphiné 2019: Poels wins rainy Alps race, Fuglsang new leader

In heavy rains Wout Poels powers to victory atop the Montée de Pipay in the 7th stage of the Dauphiné. Jakob Fuglsang finishes in second to move into the overall lead. Emanuel Buchmann crosses the line in third. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 7th stage Critérium du Dauphiné 2019

1. Wout Poels (nld)
2. Jakob Fuglsang (den) + 0.01
3. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) s.t.
4. Thibaut Pinot (fra) + 0.10
5. Daniel Martin (irl) s.t.
6. Adam Yates (gbr) s.t.
7. Romain Bardet (fra) + 0.13
8. Tejay van Garderen (usa) + 0.16
9. Dylan Teuns (bel) + 0.30
10. Bjorg Lambrecht (bel) + 0.34

11. Alexey Lutsenko (kaz) + 0.46
12. Michael Woods (can) s.t.
13. Nairo Quintana (col) s.t.
14. Richie Porte (aus) s.t.
16. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) s.t.

GC after stage 7
1. Jakob Fuglsang (den)
2. Adam Yates (gbr) + 0.08
3. Tejay van Garderen (usa) + 0.20
4. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) + 0.21
5. Wout Poels (nld) + 0.28
6. Dylan Teuns (bel) + 0.32
7. Thibaut Pinot (fra) + 0.33
8. Alexey Lutsenko (kaz) + 1.12
9. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 1.20
10. Daniel Martin (irl) + 1.21

11. Nairo Quintana (col) + 1.24
12. Richie Porte (aus) + 1.38
13. Romain Bardet (fra) s.t.

Race report
It takes 20 kilometres of attacks before Michael Woods, Julian Alaphilippe, Philippe Gilbert, Alexey Lutsenko, Gianni Moscon, Dylan van Baarle, Jack Haig, Robert Power, Damian Howson, Mikaël Chérel, Julian Alaphilippe, Philippe Gilbert, Felix Grossschartner, Magnus Cort, Jesper Hansen, Ruben Fernandez, Lennard Hofstede, Niklas Eg, Edward Theuns, Rémy Mertz, Mark Padun, Joey Rosskopf, Quentin Pacher and Kevin Ledanois open up a gap. KOM leader Alaphilippe cements his lead by taking maximum points at the Col de l’Épine before he breaks clear with Hofstede on descent. Meanwhile, chasers Benoît Cosnefroy, Edward Ravasi, Stéphane Rossetto, Julien Bernard, Jérémy Maison, Pierre Rolland and Nils Politt regain contact with the other attackers.

Alaphilippe and Hofstede crest the Col du Granier more than 1 minute ahead of the chasers, while the peloton is over 4 minutes behind. The duo is brought back by their former companions on the Col de Marcieu before Lutsenko and Woods go on the counter-attack. The Kazach heads out alone in the descent, but Moscon, Cort, Rosskopf, Power, Woods, Cherel and Hansen regain contact just before the last climb. The GC group is 2 minutes down on them.

Quintana attacks with 10 kilometres remaining with Kwiatkowski on his wheel. The other GC riders track them down after 2 kilometres before the Pole goes alone. He rejoins the last remaining leaders, Lutsenko and Woods.

It all comes together inside the last 4 kilometres before Bardet accelerates. Poels closes down the gap, while Porte, Kruijswijk and Quintana are struggling. Buchmann takes over and Fuglsang joins him. In the last kilometre Poels speeds up to try to bridge across.

The Dutchman overhauls Fuglsang and Buchmann in the last 300 metres to take his first victory in 2019. Fuglsang finishes in second and moves into the overall lead, 8 seconds ahead of Yates with Van Garderen 20 seconds behind.

Another interesting read: route 7th stage 2019 Critérium du Dauphiné.

Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 stage 7: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Wout Poels

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Overview - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Van Baarle outsprints Haig, Fuglsang seals GC - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Alaphilippe outsprints Mühlberger, Yates retains lead - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Van Aert strikes again, Yates retains lead - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Wout van Aert storms to victory, Adam Yates new leader - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Start times ITT in Roanne - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Bennett powers to win, Teuns still leader - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 New leader Dylan Teuns outguns Guillaume Martin in two-up sprint - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Boasson Hagen outsprints Gilbert and Van Aert - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Route stage 1: Aurillac - Jussac - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Route stage 2: Mauriac - Craponne-sur-Arzon - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Route stage 3: Le Puy-en-Velay - Riom - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Route stage 4: ITT in Roanne - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Route stage 5: Boën-sur-Lignon - Voiron - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Route stage 6: Saint-Vulbas - Saint-Michel-de-Maurienne - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 Route stage 8: Cluses - Champéry - Critérium du Dauphiné 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!