Clásica de San Sebastián 2022: Favourites

Tadej pogacar - Clásica de San Sebastián 2022: Favouritesfoto: Cor VosThe Clásica de San Sebastián is a race for punchers with downhill skills and a fast sprint. Who are the major contenders to win the 2022 Clásica de San Sebastián?

The route takes in six intermediate ascents before the riders tackle the short and sharp Murgil with 9 kilometres remaining. Since its introduction in 2014 the Murgil climb often plays a pivotal role in the Clásica de San Sebastián. Two years ago Evenepoel dropped his fellow attacker Toms Skujins on the 1.8 kilometres climb at 11.3% before he soloed to victory. But on most occasions a group of for to five riders crest the ramp together.

Last year, Neilson Powless, Lorenzo Rota, Mikkel Honoré and Matej Mohoric attacked with 23 kilometres to go. They held off the peloton on the Murgil climb before Powless srinted to victory.

In recent year, the Clásica de San Sebastián was won by Neilson Powless (2021), Remco Evenepoel (2019), Julian Alaphilippe (2018), Michal Kwiatkowski (2017), Bauke Mollema (2016), Adam Yates (2015), and Alejandro Valverde (2014).

Favourites Clásica de San Sebastián 2022

*** Remco Evenepoel, Tadej Pogacar, Matej Mohoric
** Michael Matthews, Simon Yates, Maximilian Schachmann, Alberto Bettiol
* Carlos Rodriguez, Bauke Mollema, Alejandro Valverde, Mikkel Honoré, Ruben Guerreiro

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
1 comment(s)

  • Jan says:

    Your website often overestimate Mohoric. I love him and I’d be glad if my opinion is wrong but descending skills are useless when you don’t have legs to climb. Matej doesn’t look impressive lately.

Related articles
Overview - Clásica de San Sebastián 20
More articles