Clásica de San Sebastián 2019: Favourites

The Clásica de San Sebastián is a race for punchers with downhill skills. Small wonder Julian Alaphilippe is the defending champion. The route includes seven ascents. The last one is the short and sharp Murgil before the riders plunge down to the line in San Sebastián. Who are the major contenders to win the 2019 Clásica de San Sebastián?

Since its introduction as the final haul up, the Murgil climb has a pivotal role in the Clásica de San Sebastián. The ramp is just 1.8 kilometres long and the average gradient sits at 11.3%, while it peaks out at 22%. Last year, Bauke Mollema and Julian Alaphilippe crested the Murgil together to hold off the chasers in the 7 kilometres descent. The Frenchman won the sprint.

Mollema is almost always in the mix at the top. The Dutchman won the race three years ago. He reached the summit with Alejandro Valverde, Joaquim ‘Purito’ Rodríguez and Tony Gallopin before he dropped them on the false flat at the summit.

Two years ago, Michal Kwiatkowski took the spoils. He crested the Murgil with Tom Dumoulin to track down the three leaders – Mikel Landa, Tony Galopin, Bauke Mollema – in the descent. The Pole won the five up sprint in San Sebastián.

Other former winners at the start of the 2019 Clásica de San Sebastián are Adam Yates (2015), Tony Gallopin (2013), and Luis León Sánchez (2012, 2010).

Favourites 2019 Clásica de San Sebastián

***** Simon Yates, Julian Alaphilippe, Egan Bernal
**** Greg Van Avermaet, Mikel Landa, Adam Yates
*** Alejandro Valverde, Bauke Mollema, Michael Woods
** Wout Poels, Tadej Pogacar, Rigoberto Uran, Daniel Martin
* Gregor Mühlberger, Tony Gallopin, Giulio Ciccone, Tim Wellens

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Clásica de San Sebastián 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!