Brabantse Pijl 2021: Favourites

Wout van Aert ta - Brabantse Pijl 2021: Favorietenimage: Cor VosWout van Aert aims to win his second Classic of 2021, but other contenders also want to celebrate a Brabantse Pijl victory. Who are the favourites to succeed Julian Alaphilippe?

Brabantse Pijl – or, La Flèche Brabançonne – is sandwiched between the cobbled Classics in Flanders and the hilly Classics in Wallonia/the Netherlands. In fact, the race used to be a cobbled Classic, but it re-invented itself and now it is a transition race. Quite literally so, as the decisive climb on last year’s race, Moskesstraat, is a steep cobbled climb that would not detonate in the finale of the Tour of Flanders.

Last year, Alaphilippe and Van der Poel jumped off the front on the steepest stretch of the Moskesstraat, just before the top, while Cosnefroy managed to bridge across. Some 10 kilometres later Alaphilippe won the sprint-à-trois.

A daunting gauntlet of ascents make Brabantse Pijl a true race of attrition. The final lap is 22 kilometres long and features five climbs. After the Moskesstraat the riders tackle the Holstheide before the final kilometre goes up at 3%.

Still active winners of Brabantse Pijl are Alaphilippe (2020), Van der Poel (2019), Wellens (2018), Colbrelli (2017), Vakoc (2016), Hermans (2015), Gilbert (2014, 2011), and Sagan (2013).

Favourites 2021 Brabantse Pijl

*** Wout van Aert, Jasper Stuyven, Michael Matthews
** Richard Carapaz, Matteo Trentin, Tom Pidcock, Christophe Laporte
* Magnus Cort, Greg Van Avermaet, Anthony Turgis, Sonny Colbrelli, Ide Schelling

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Brabantse Pijl 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!