Volta a Catalunya 2022: GC Favourites

Simon yates - Volta a Catalunya 2022: Favouritesimage: Cor VosThe Volta a Catalunya is the exception to the unspoken rule that stage races include at least one time trial. So climbers who lack time trial skills should come to the fore. Who are the GC favourites in Catalonia?

[Underneath article was written before the start of the Volta a Catalunya and has not been updated]

Nairo Quintana is one of those riders who always loses time in races against the clock. As is Richard Carapaz. Simon Yates also used to be in this category, but recently he performed very strong in the Paris-Nice ITT. He was altogether strong in that race, finishing in second overall and winning the last stage.

The battle for the overall triumph on the Volta a Catalunya is expected to come down to stage 3 and stage 4, while the hilly criterium race on the last day of action is always compelling, but seldom leads to significant changes on GC.

Stage 3 is likely to open up the first time gaps among GC riders before the ultimate victor tuns out on top in Boí Taüll. The La Molina finish climb on the third day of action climbs at 6% for 9 kilometres before it levels out and even descends for a bit, only to bounce back with 2 kilometres at 4%. Not an ascent for pure mountain goats, but if the form is not good enough, you suffer.

The Boí Taüll climb on the fourth day is similar, only longer and slightly steeper. The ski resort lies at the end of a 14.2 kilometres climb at 5.5%. It’s a steady ascent with a false flat kilometre halfway.

Recent winners of the Volta a Catalunya are Adam Yates (2021), Miguel Ángel López (2019), Alejandro Valverde (2018, 2017, 2009), Nairo Quintana (2016), and Richie Porte (2015).

Favourites 2022 Volta a Catalunya

**** Simon Yates, Alejandro Valverde, Nairo Quintana
*** Richard Carapaz, Jai Hindley, Marc Soler, Hugh Carthy
** Ben O’Connor, Carlos Rodriguez, Jack Haig, Tom Dumoulin, Rigoberto Uran
* Iván Sosa, João Almeida, Jakob Fuglsang, Wout Poels, Giulio Ciccone, Esteban Chaves

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Winners and records - Volta a Catalunya Bagioli wins final stage, Higuita seals GC win - Volta a Catalunya 20 Carapaz wins spectacle race, Higuita new leader - Volta a Catalunya 20 Sprint triumph Vernon, Almeida new leader - Volta a Catalunya 20 Almeida wins in Boí Taüll, Quintana new leader - Volta a Catalunya 20 Ben O'Connor wins and takes race lead in La Molina - Volta a Catalunya 20 Sprint victory Groves, Hvideberg takes GC lead - Volta a Catalunya 20 Matthews wins uphill sprint to take race lead - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 1: Sant Feliu de Guíxols - Sant Feliu de Guíxols - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 2: L’Escala – Perpignan - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 3: Perpignan – La Molina - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 4: La Seu d’Urgell – Boí Taüll - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 5: La Pobla de Segur – Vilanova i la Geltrú - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 6: Salou – Cambrils - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 7: Barcelona - Barcelona - Volta a Catalunya 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!