Giro 2024: Narváez powers to pink in three-up sprint

Jhonatan Narvaez - Giro 2024: Narváez powers to pink in three-up sprintfoto: Cor VosThe Giro d'Italia kicks off with a bang. Tadej Pogacar attacks on the steep San Vito climb and Jhonathan Narváez follows him like a shadow. Maximilian Schachmann rejoins them on the descent before the Ecuadorian sprints to the pink jersey in Turin. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 1st stage 2024 Giro

1. Jhonatan Narváez (ecu)
2. Maximilian Schachmann (ger) s.t.
3. Tadej Pogacar (slo) s.t.
4. Alex Baudin (fra) + 0.06
5. Nicola Conci (ita) + 0.10
6. Quinten Hermans (bel) s.t.
7. Mauri Vansevenant (bel) s.t.
8. Antonio Tiberi (ita) s.t.
9. Attila Valter (hun) s.t.
10. Geraint Thomas (gbr) s.t.

GC after stage 1
1. Jhonatan Narváez (ecu)
2. Maximilian Schachmann (ger) + 0.03
3. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 0.06
4. Alex Baudin (fra) + 0.16
5. Damiano Caruso (ita) + 0.17
6. Nicola Conci (ita) + 0.18
6. Quinten Hermans (bel) + 0.20
7. Mauri Vansevenant (bel) s.t.
9. Antonio Tiberi (ita) s.t.
10. Attila Valter (hun) s.t.

11. Geraint Thomas (gbr) s.t.
13. Daniel Felipe Martínez (col) s.t.
14. Cian Uijtdebroeks (bel) s.t.
18. Esteban Chavez (col) s.t.
19. Ben O’Connor (aus) s.t.
20. Giulio Pellizzari (ita) s.t.
21. Einer Rubio (col) s.t.
22. Alexey Lutsenko (kaz) s.t.
23. juan Pedro López (spa) + 0.30
35. nairo Quintana (col) + 1.07
39. Romain Bardet (fra) s.t.
40. Luke Plapp (aus) s.t.
47. Thymen Arensman (nld) + 2.27
66. Tobias Foss (nor) + 8.23
72. Michael Woods (can) s.t.

Race report
Sono Louis Barré, Nicolas Debeaumarché, Lilian Calmejane, Andrea Pietrobon, Amanuel Ghebreigzabhier, and Filippo Fiorelli establish the first breakaway of the Giro after 8 kilometres of action. The six open up a 2 minutes lead before UAE Team Emirates takes the reins in the peloton.

The gap widens to almost three minutes on the first KOM climb of the day, where Fiorelli wins the sprint for blue jersey points.

Ghebreigzabhier heads out alone on the Superga, while Fiorelli, Calmejane, and Pietrobon rejoin him on the descent. The Eritrean pushes on with Calmejane.

The two cross the line 2 minutes ahead of the peloton, which falls to below 1 minute on the Colle Maddalena. Thymen Arensman and Romain Bardet can’t keep up with the pace in the pack.

Calmejane shakes off Ghebreigzabhier on the climb and reaches the summit with a small lead over the peloton. He distances the group again on the descent, while Maximilian Schachmann, Mikkel Honoré, and Nicola Conci go after him. Alex Baudin, Alessandro De Marchi, Giulio Pellizzari, and Damiano Caruso bridge across. They catch the lone attacker.

Conci attacks to tackle the San Vito climb in first position. Tadej Pogacar gobbles up the other attackers with Jhonatan Narváez and Julian Alaphlippe in his wheel. Schachmann replaces Alaphilippe and they catch Conci.

Pogacar and Narváez reach the summit together before Schachmann tracks them down in the descent. In the ensuing sprint, Narváez outguns Schachmann and Pogacar to take the first pink jersey of the 2024 Giro d’Italia.

Another interesting read: route 1st stage 2024 Giro d’Italia.

Giro d’Italia 2024 stage 1: video, routes, profiles

Click on the images to zoom

Jhonathan Narváez

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Narváez also takes first maglia ciclamino - Giro 2024 The Route - Giro 2024 Results - Giro 2024 Winners and records - Giro d'Italia Withdrawals - Giro 2024 Riders - Giro 2024 GC Favourites - Giro 2024
More articles