Critérium du Dauphiné 2020: Solo triumph Kämna, Roglic still leader

Lennard Kämna solos to victory in the Dauphiné's 4th stage, a hard race with six intermediate ascents and uphill finish in Megève. David de la Cruz finishes in second, while Primoz Roglic stays in the overall lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 4th stage Critérium du Dauphiné 2020

1. Lennard Kämna (ger)
2. David de la Cruz (spa) + 0.41
3. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) + 0.56
4. Jack Haig (aus) + 0.58
5. Kenny Elissonde (fra) + 1.02
6. Fausto Masnada (ita) + 1.10
7. Michal Kwiatkowski (pol) + 1.19
8. Marc Hirschi (swi) + 1.43
9. Thibaut Pinot (fra) + 3.01
10. Primoz Roglic (slo) s.t.

12. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 3.01
13. Tom Dumoulin (nld) s.t.
15. Daniel Felipe Martínez (col) s.t.
18. Mikel Landa (spa) s.t.
19. Nairo Quintana (col) s.t.
20. Romain Bardet (fra) s.t.
22. Miguel Ángel López (col) s.t.
25. Richie Porte (aus) s.t.
41. Rigoberto Urán (col) + 14.29
49. Adam Yates (gbr) s.t.
58. Geraint Thomas (gbr) + 16.02

GC after stage 4
1. Primoz Roglic (slo)
2. Thibaut Pinot (fra) + 0.14
3. Guillaume Martin (fra) + 0.24
4. Mikel Landa (spa) + 0.26
5. Daniel Felipe Martínez (col) s.t.
6. Miguel Ángel López (col) + 0.32
7. Nairo Quintana (col) + 0.35
8. Richie Porte (aus) s.t.
9. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 1.17
10. Romain Bartdet (fra) + 1.24

Race report
Thomas De Gendt attacks from the gun and a lot of riders try to bridge across. After 10 kilometres Julian Alaphilippe, Michal Kwiatkowski, Kenny Elissonde and Fausto Masnada are the first do so, while Lennard Kämna, David de la Cruz, Marc Soler, Jack Haig and Marc Hirschi also make it to the front. The last riders to bridge are Luis León Sánchez, Dylan van Baarle, Matej Mohoric, Dylan Teuns and Nicolas Edet, who rejoin the others in the first slopes of Col de Plan Bois.

Kämna is the best classified rider at the front, trailing leader Primoz Roglic by 5.21 minutes.

Emanuel Buchmann and Steven Kruijswijk hit the deck in the descent of the Plan Bois and the GC contenders are forced to abandon. So three riders of the Tour de France’s top 4 in 2019 are out of the race, since Egan Bernal did not start the stage due to back pain.

The lead group reaches the summit of the Col de la Croix Fry 4 minutes ahead of the peloton, which remains the gap for tens of kilometres.

In the valley leading onto the Montée de Bisanne Roglic goes down, although he is able to continue with a ripped shirt and bruises. Meanwhile, the leaders reach a maximum advantage of more than 5 minutes. On the first slopes it has fallen to approximately 3 minutes.

Inside the last kilometre of the ascent Alaphilippe, Kwiatkowski, De la Cruz, Kämna, Hirschi, Masnada, Haig and Elissonde are the only remaining leaders, while Landa attacks on the lower slopes. Dumoulin brings him back with Roglic, Kuss, Sivakov, Quintana, Martínez and Pinot on his wheel. Guillaume Martin, Superman López and Nicolas Edet restore contact a little later, but the last two are dropped again.

In the descent and the valley the Roglic group extends to approximately 30 riders.

The eight leaders enter the finish climb 2 minutes ahead of the chasers. Elissonde attacks on the early slopes and De La Cruz bridges across with 5 kilometres to climb. Kämna also restores contact with the front of the race and he pushes on alone.

The German solos to victory and David de la Cruz finishes in second.

Roglic stays in the GC lead ahead of Pinot, while Martin moves up to third place, because Buchmann abandoned.

Another interesting read: route 4th stage 2020 Critérium du Dauphiné.

Critérium du Dauphiné 2020 stage 4: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Critérium du Dauphiné 2020 Overview - Critérium du Dauphiné 2020 Solo win Sepp Kuss, GC victory Daniel Felipe Martínez - Critérium du Dauphiné 2020 Formolo solos to victory, Roglic cements lead - Critérium du Dauphiné 2020 Roglic moves into yellow with late attack - Critérium du Dauphiné 2020 Uphill sprint win Van Aert - Critérium du Dauphiné 2020 Route stage 1: Clermont-Ferrand - Saint-Christo-en-Jarez - Critérium du Dauphiné 2020 Route stage 2: Vienne - Col de Porte - Critérium du Dauphiné 2020 Route stage 3: Corenc - Saint-Martin-de-Belleville - Critérium du Dauphiné 2020 Route stage 5: Megève - Megève - Critérium du Dauphiné 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!