Giro Rosa 2020: Sprint victory Vos, Van Vleuten retains pink

After two modest intermediate climbs a peloton of some forty riders sprint for the win in Terracina. Marianne Vos takes the spoils, while Annemiek van Vleuten stays in pink. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 5th stage Giro Rosa 2020

1. Marianne Vos (nld)
2. Lotte Kopecky (bel) s.t.
3. Elizabeth Deignan (gbr) s.t.
4. Coryn Rivera (usa) s.t.
5. Lisa Brennauer (ger) s.t.
6. Alison Jackson (can) s.t.
7. Sandra Alonso (spa) s.t.
8. Amy Pieters (nld) s.t.
9. Jelena Eric (Ser) s.t.
10. Vittoria Guazzini (ita) s.t.

GC after stage 5
1. Annemiek van Vleuten (nld)
2. Katarzyna Niewiadoma (pol) + 1.56
3. Anna van der Breggen (nld) + 2.03
4. Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (den) + 3.03
5. Mikayla Harvey (nzl)+ 4.21
6. Else Longo Borghini (ita) + 4.32
7. Ashleigh Moolman (rsa) + 4.34
8. Mavi García (spa) + 4.38
9. Marianne Vos (nld) + 5.19
10. Elise Chabbey (swi)+ 5.36

Race report
Ainara Elbusto attacks early on to open up a gap of 30 seconds. A lot of movement behind her until Laura Tomasi and Elena Pirone manage to bridge across. But not for long. Following other attacks by Nadia Quagliotto and Giorgia Bariani the peloton regroups again.

Markéta Hájková and Małgorzata Jasińska are next. The duo puts 40 seconds into the peloton before they are brought back on the 16 kilometres uphill midway in the stage.

The peloton is halved when the riders reach the summit. Over the second climb the first group is down to 40 riders.

Elisa Longo Borghini attacks with 15 kilometres out and she opens up a gap of 18 seconds, but the main group brings her back inside the last 3 kilometres.

In the ensuing sprint Marianne Vos powers to victory. She wins a bike length ahead of Lotte Kopecky, while Annemiek van Vleuten stays in the pink jersey.

Another interesting read: route 5th stage 2020 Giro Rosa.

Giro Rosa 2020 stage 5: route & profile

Click on the images to zoom

Marianne Vos

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Giro Rosa 2020 Evita Muzic wins last stage, Van der Breggen seals GC - Giro Rosa 2020 Sprint win Longo Borghini, leader's jersey Van der Breggen - Giro Rosa 2020 Sprint victory Kopecky, pink jersey Van Vleuten crashes - Giro Rosa 2020 Vos again, Van Vleuten keeps pink - Giro Rosa 2020 Elizabeth Banks solos to win, Van Vleuten still leader - Giro Rosa 2020 Vos wins on steep ramp, Van Vleuten still in pink - Giro Rosa 2020 Van Vleuten solos to victory and maglia rosa - Giro Rosa 2020 Longo Borghini first leader - Giro Rosa 2020 Route stage 1: Grosseto - Grosseto - Giro Rosa 2020 Route stage 2: Civitella Paganico - Arcidosso - Giro Rosa 2020 Route stage 3: Santa Fiora - Assisi - Giro Rosa 2020 Route stage 4: Assisi - Tivoli - Giro Rosa 2020 Route stage 6: Torre del Greco - Nola - Giro Rosa 2020 Route stage 7: Nola - Maddaloni - Giro Rosa 2020 Route stage 8: Castelnuovo della Daunia - San Marco la Catola - Giro Rosa 2020 Route stage 9: Motta Montecorvino - Motta Montecorvino - Giro Rosa 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!