Giro Rosa 2018 Stage 4: Jolien D’Hoore again, Leah Kirchmann still in pink

The 4th stage of the Giro Rosa is yet another chance for the fast women to shine. Jolien D'Hoore powers in Piacenza to a back-to-back win. At the end of the 109 kilometres out-and-back route she outguns Marta Bastianelli and Lotta Lepistö. Leah Kirchmann finishes in fourth to retain the maglia rosa. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 4th stage 2018 Giro Rosa

1. Jolien D’Hoore (bel)
3. Marta Bastianelli (ita) s.t.
3. Lotta Lepistö (fin) s.t.
4. Leah Kirchmann (can) s.t.
5. Roxane Fournier (fra) s.t.
6. Kirsten Wild (nld) s.t.
7. Amy Pieters (nld) s.t.
8. Emilia Fahlin (swe) s.t.
9. Barbara Guarischi (ita) s.t.
10. Alexis Ryan (usa) s.t.

GC after the 4th stage
1. Leah Kirchmann (can)
2. Lucinda Brand (nld) + 0.06
3. Ruth Winder (usa) + 0.10
4. Amanda Spratt (aus) + 0.11
5. Annemiek van Vleuten (nld) s.t.
6. Gracie Elvin (aus) s.t.
7. Ellen van Dijk (nld) + 0.17
8. Amy Pieters (nld) + 0.18
9. Lotta Lepistö (fin) + 0.24
10. Kirsten Wild (nld) + 0.26

11. Chantal Blaak (nld) + 0.29
18. Katarzyna Niewiadoma (pol) + 0.43
19. Elisa Longo Borghini (ita) + 0.49
21. Megan Guarnier (usa) + 1.18
32. Sabrina Stultiens (nld) + 1.57
58. Shara Gillow (aus) + 3.06

Race report
It’s an aggressive start, but it takes awhile for an attack to stick. Kseniia Dobrynina races ahead of the peloton for a number of kilometres before she is brought back. Then Elena Franchi gives it a go. She puts 30 seconds into the peloton, but before the top of the only classified climb of the day she is reeled in. Elisa Longo Borghini takes most KOM-points ahead of Amanda Spratt, Karol-Ann Canuel, Ashleigh Moolman and Annemiek van Vleuten.

Olena Pavlukhina attacks with 35 kms remaining to take a 1 minute lead, but she can’t hold off the charging pack. In the last kms she is reeled in.

The race comes down to a bunch sprint and Jolien D’Hoore powers to a second consecutive stage victory in the Giro Rosa. Marta Bastianelli and Lotta Lepistö finish in second and third, while the fourth finisher, Leah Kirchmann, retains the maglia rosa.

Read also: route 4th stage 2018 Giro Rosa.

Giro Rosa 2018 stage 4: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 10: Annemiek van Vleuten wins final stage and GC - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 9: Van Vleuten cements lead with Zoncolan victory - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 8: Marianne Vos sprints to victory, Annemiek van Vleuten still in pink - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 7: Annemiek van Vleuten climbs to mountain time trial win and maglia rosa - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 6: Mountain top victory brings Amanda Spratt maglia rosa - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 5: Ruth Winder takes stage win and maglia rosa - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 3: Jolien D'Hoore powers to sprint win, Leah Kirchmann new leader - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 2: Sprint victory Kirsten Wild, Lucinda Brand new leader - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 1: Team Sunweb wins TTT, Ellen van Dijk first maglia Rosa - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 1: TTT in Verbania - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 2: Ovada - Ovada - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 3: Corbetta- Corbetta - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 5: Omegna - Omegna - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 6: Sovico - Gerola Alta - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 7: Lanzada - Campo Moro - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 8: San Giorgio di Perlena - Breganze - Giro Rosa 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!