Giro Rosa 2018 Stage 3: Jolien D’Hoore powers to sprint win, Leah Kirchmann new leader

The Giro Rosa's 3rd stage is as flat as a skate rink. At the end of the circuit race in Corbetta Jolien D'Hoore outsprints Kirsten Wild and Alexis Ryan. Leah Kirchmann finishes in fourth and is the new overall leader. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 3rd stage 2018 Giro Rosa

1. Jolien D’Hoore (bel)
2. Kirsten Wild (nld) s.t.
3. Alexis Ryan (usa) s.t.
4. Leah Kirchmann (ger) s.t.
5. Giorgia Bronzini (ita) s.t.
6. Marianne Vos (nld) s.t.
7. Barbara Guarischi (ita) s.t.
8. Amy Pieters (nld) s.t.
9. Maria Giulia Confalonieri (ita) s.t.
10. Lotta Lepistö (fin) s.t.

GC after the 3rd stage
1. Leah Kirchmann (can)
2. Lucinda Brand (nld) + 0.05
3. Ellen van Dijk (nld) + 0.09
4. Ruth Winder (usa) s.t.
5. Amanda Spratt (aus) + 0.10
6. Annemiek van Vleuten (nld) s.t.
7. Gracie Elvin (aus) s.t.
8. Amy Pieters (nld) + 0.17
9. Chantal Blaak (nld) + 0.21
10. Kirsten Wild (nld) + 0.25

19. Katarzyna Niewiadoma (pol) + 0.35
22. Marianne Vos (nld) + 0.36
23. Elisa Longo Borghini (ita) + 0.48
28. Megan Guarnier (usa) + 1.17
35. Sabrina Stultiens (nld) + 1.38
69. Karol-Ann Canuel (can) + 2.52
71. Shara Gillow (aus) + 2.58

Race report
Under the blazing sun the peloton remains bunched for quite a while. The second passage on the line is the first intermediate sprint. Kirsten Wild wins ahead of Leah Kirchmann and Lucinda Brand. So Brand cements her overall lead.

Then Olga Shekel gives it a go. Ann-Sophie Duyck, Sara Penton, Chiara Perini and Carmela Cipriani join the front, but Duyck and Sherel can’t follow the pace. The three leaders race to an advantage of 2 minutes.

In the last 4 kilometres the break is caught. Because of a crash the main group is reduced to 45 riders, while the second group is 50 seconds in arrears. In the ensuing sprint Jolien D’Hoore bests Kirsten Wild and Alexis Ryan.

Leah Kirchmann, who finishes in fourth place, is the new overall leader. Lucinda Brand finishes 4 seconds down on her and drops to second place.

Read also: route 3rd stage Giro Rosa 2018

Giro Rosa 2018 stage 3: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 10: Annemiek van Vleuten wins final stage and GC - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 9: Van Vleuten cements lead with Zoncolan victory - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 8: Marianne Vos sprints to victory, Annemiek van Vleuten still in pink - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 7: Annemiek van Vleuten climbs to mountain time trial win and maglia rosa - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 6: Mountain top victory brings Amanda Spratt maglia rosa - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 5: Ruth Winder takes stage win and maglia rosa - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 4: Jolien D'Hoore again, Leah Kirchmann still in pink - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 2: Sprint victory Kirsten Wild, Lucinda Brand new leader - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 1: Team Sunweb wins TTT, Ellen van Dijk first maglia Rosa - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 1: TTT in Verbania - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 2: Ovada - Ovada - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 4: Piacenza - Piacenza - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 5: Omegna - Omegna - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 6: Sovico - Gerola Alta - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 7: Lanzada - Campo Moro - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 8: San Giorgio di Perlena - Breganze - Giro Rosa 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!