Tour Colombia 2020: Higuita takes stage 4 and race lead

The 4th stage of Tour Colombia is a lumpy race with an uphill finale. Sergio Higuita counters a late Richard Carapaz attack to snatch the stage win ahead of Egan Bernal and Julian Alaphilippe. The Colombian Champion is the new race leader. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 4th stage Tour Colombia 2020

1. Sergio Higuita (col)
2. Egan Bernal (col) s.t.
3. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) + 0.01
4. Daniel Felipe Martínez (col) + 0.02
5. Torstein Træen (nor) s.t.
6. Richard Carapaz (ecu) s.t.
7. Miguel Eduardo Flórez s.t.
8. Jonathan Caicedo (ecu) + 0.04
9. Esteban Chaves (col) s.t.
10. Fredy Montaña (col) s.t.

GC after stage 4
1. Sergio Higuita (col)
2. Daniel Felipe Martínez (col) + 0.12
3. Jonathan Caicedo (ecu) + 0.14
4. Egan Bernal (col) + 0.50
5. Richard Carapaz (ecu) + 0.58
6. Freddy Montaña (col) + 1.14
7. Aldemar Reyes (col) + 1.28
8. Gavin Mannion (usa) + 1.30
9. Sergio Henao (col) + 1.31
10. Fabio Aru (ita) s.t.

Race report
Simon Pellaud, Etienne van Empel, Eduardo Corte, Kristian Yustre, Omar Mendoza, Sebastián Castaño and Lauro Moro form the break of the day. The seven race to a maximum lead of 4 minutes.

The catch is made with 13 kilometres left.

Ineos sets the pace on the uphill to the line before Carapaz accelerates with 4 kilometer to go. Alaphilippe and Martínez go with him before ten more riders make it across. Among them Bernal, Higuita and leader Caicedo.

Carapaz strikes again when the climb levels out inside the last 3 kilometres. He opens up a promising gap but Alaphilippe brings him back in the final kilometre with Higuita on his wheel. The Colombian Champion rockets out from behind the Frenchman to solo to victory. Bernal bests Alaphilippe for second place.

Another interesting read: route 4th stage 2020 Tour Colombia.

Tour Colombia 2020 stage 4: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Sergio Higuita

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tour Colombia 2020 Overview - Tour Colombia 2020 Martínez wins Queen Stage, Higuita seals GC victory - Tour Colombia 2020 Molano completes hat-trick, Higuita keeps GC lead - Tour Colombia 2020 Molano again, Caicedo keeps race lead - Tour Colombia 2020 Sprint victory Molano, Caicedo still leader - Tour Colombia 2020 EF Cycling wins TTT, Caicedo first leader - Tour Colombia 2020 Route stage 1: Tunja – Tunja - Tour Colombia 2020 Route stage 2: Paipa – Duitama - Tour Colombia 2020 Route stage 3: Paipa – Sogamoso - Tour Colombia 2020 Route stage 5: Paipa – Zipaquirá - Tour Colombia 2020 Route stage 6: Zipaquirá – Alto El Verjón - Tour Colombia 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!