Tour Colombia 2020: Favourites

In terms of the general classification the Tour Colombia comes down to two stages. The race serves a time trial on day one and its Queen Stage on the last day of action. brings you the favourites to win the Tour Colombia in 2020.

[Underneath article was written before the start of Tour Colombia and has not been updated.]

The first time gaps will be opened up on the first day of action, as the Tour Colombia kicks into gear with a team time trial. Recently, Daniel Felipe Martínez won the Colombian national time trial championships for the second consecutive year. Since he rides with a strong squad, EF Education First, who won last year’s TTT, he is expected to shine form day one onward. As does his teammate and national champion Sergio Higuita. Obviously, Tour de France winner Bernal is another rider to watch.

Following the chances for fast men or attackers the race serves its Queen Stage on the last day of action. The race includes a number of warm-up climbs before it all comes down to the Alto El Verjón. This finish climb near Bogotá is 18.1 kilometres long and the average gradients sits at 5.1%. The riders cross the line at an elevation of 3,266 metres.

2019’s champion Miguel Ángel López does not participate, nor does runner-up Iván Sosa. Daniel Felipe Martínez finished in third last year and Egan Bernal won the race in 2018.

Favourites Tour Colombia 2020

*** Egan Bernal, Daniel Felipe Martínez, Sergio Higuita,
** Richard Carapaz, Julian Alaphilippe, Rigoberto Uran
* Bob Jungels, Tejay van Garderen, Carlos Betancur

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Martínez wins Queen Stage, Higuita seals GC victory - Tour Colombia 2020 Molano completes hat-trick, Higuita keeps GC lead - Tour Colombia 2020 Higuita takes stage 4 and race lead - Tour Colombia 2020 Molano again, Caicedo keeps race lead - Tour Colombia 2020 Sprint victory Molano, Caicedo still leader - Tour Colombia 2020 EF Cycling wins TTT, Caicedo first leader - Tour Colombia 2020 Route stage 1: Tunja – Tunja - Tour Colombia 2020 Route stage 2: Paipa – Duitama - Tour Colombia 2020 Route stage 3: Paipa – Sogamoso - Tour Colombia 2020 Route stage 4: Paipa – Santa Rosa de Viterbo - Tour Colombia 2020 Route stage 5: Paipa – Zipaquirá - Tour Colombia 2020 Route stage 6: Zipaquirá – Alto El Verjón - Tour Colombia 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!