Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 3: Jaén - Úbeda

Ruta del Sol 2020 stage 3Friday 21 February - The Ruta del Sol serves the Queen Stage on the third day of action. At 176.9 kilometres, the riders traverse five mountain passes before a technical finale in the old town of Úbeda. The elevation gain is 3,160 metres.

Shortly after the start in Jaén the riders move through La Guardia de Jaén, a place at the foot of the Sierra Mágina. The massif is hardly accessible by bike and the route forms a circumferential loop around it.

Early in the race the riders tackle the Alto de Cambil (6.1 kilometres at 5%) and Puerto de la Mata (10.4 kilometres at 3.8%). A long descent leads to the foot of the Puerto de Solera, which is a 7 kilometres climb at 6.6% with ramps up to 20%.

A rolling downhill of almost 50 kilometres takes the riders to the north of the massif. The race moves through Bedmar to tackle the climb to Albanchez de Mágina. According to the roadbook this is the Puerto de Mágina and it ascends for 16.1 kilometres at 4.2%.

The route then continues further north, away from the Sierra Mágina. Another long descent leads to the valley of the Guadalquivir. The route crosses the second longest river of Spain in Puente del Obispo to tackle a 8.8 kilometres at 5.4% to Baeza. A rolling finale of 15 kilometres concludes the race.

The finish in the historical town of Úbeda is pepped up with cobbles.

Stage 3 on the Ruta del Sol starts at 12.00 and the race is expected to finish around 16.25 – both are local times.

Ruta del Sol 2020 stage 3: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Overview - Ruta del Sol 2020 Serrano wins steep finale, Fuglsang stays leader - Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 2: Sevilla - Iznájar - Ruta del Sol 2020 Fugslang bests Landa to take race lead - Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 1: Alhaurín de la Torre - Grazalema - Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 4: Villanueva Mesía - Granada - Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 5: Mijas - Mijas - Ruta del Sol 2020
More articles