Ruta del Sol 2020: The Route

Ruta del SolThe Ruta del Sol, also known as the Vuelta a Andalucia, serves an extremely mountainous edition this year. The race kicked into with a race including 3,740 vertical metres, while a technical ITT takes place on the final day of action.

The Ruta del Sol takes off in style. At 173.8 kilometres, the 1st stage includes five intermediate climbs and 3,740 vertical metres. The last climb, Puerto de las Palomas, is crested with 6 kilometres to go.

Stage 2 adds up to 198.1 kilometres. The first part of the route is flat before it continues on rolling roads to an uphill finale.

The GC will certainly have some definition after the mid-race Queen Stage. At 176.9 kilometres, the riders traverse four mountain passes before a narrow and technical final in the old town of Úbeda.

The route continues with a relatively short ride of 125 kilometres. The finale of stage 4 features the Alto del Purche – 9.5 kilometres at 6.9% – before a 17 kilometres downhill into Granada.

The Ruta del Sol concludes with a 13 kilometres ITT in Mijas. The technical route is pepped up with a number of uphill kicks.

Ruta del Sol 2020: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Teuns wins ITT, Fuglsang seals GC victory - Ruta del Sol 2020 Haig bests Landa and Fugslang in three-up sprint - Ruta del Sol 2020 Fuglsang cements GC lead with Queen Stage victory - Ruta del Sol 2020 Serrano wins steep finale, Fuglsang keeps race lead - Ruta del Sol 2020 Fugslang bests Landa to take race lead - Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 1: Alhaurín de la Torre - Grazalema - Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 2: Sevilla - Iznájar - Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 3: Jaén - Úbeda - Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 4: Villanueva Mesía - Granada - Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 5: Mijas - Mijas - Ruta del Sol 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!