Ruta del Sol 2020: Favourites

Climbing, time trialling and descending skills are obligatory for riders with GC ambitions. brings you the favourites to win the Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta Ciclista del Sol.

[Underneath article was written before the start of the Ruta del Sol and has not been updated]

Not only being a versatile rider will help you to win the GC, you also have to be wide-awake from start to finish. In virtually all stages there can be pitfalls. Stage 1, 3 and 5 are likely to have the most impact on GC, although the race on the fourth day of action could turn out to be tricky also.

Stage 1 serves a mountainous race with a final haul up of 12.7 kilometres at 6.5%. The finish lies at the end of a 6 kilometres descent.

Featuring a vertical gain of almost 3,200 metres, stage 3 is bound to be the toughest test. The route takes in five climbs before the last 15 kilometres are played out on rolling terrain. Adding an extra element of excitement, the finale in the old city of Úbeda takes place on cobbles.

The 4th stage is short and not too demanding. But when time trialling is your weakness, this is the last chance to shine. So possibly, GC contenders will ignite the fireworks on the Purche climb: 9 kilometres at 7.5% with in its wake a 17 kilometres drop to the line.

Arguably, the most important race in terms of the overall victory is scheduled on the last day of action. Stage 5 is a hilly individual time trial of 13 kilometres in and around Mijas on the Costa del Sol.

Favourites Ruta del Sol 2020
*** Ion Izagirre, Pello Bilbao
** Enric Mas, Jack Haig, Jakob Fuglsang
* Mikel Landa, Dylan Teuns, Marc Soler

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Teuns wins ITT, Fuglsang seals GC victory - Ruta del Sol 2020 Haig bests Landa and Fugslang in three-up sprint - Ruta del Sol 2020 Fuglsang cements GC lead with Queen Stage victory - Ruta del Sol 2020 Serrano wins steep finale, Fuglsang keeps race lead - Ruta del Sol 2020 Fugslang bests Landa to take race lead - Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 1: Alhaurín de la Torre - Grazalema - Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 2: Sevilla - Iznájar - Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 3: Jaén - Úbeda - Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 4: Villanueva Mesía - Granada - Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 5: Mijas - Mijas - Ruta del Sol 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!