Paris - Nice 2022: Mads Pedersen wins uphill sprint, Laporte still leader

Mads pedersen pn - Paris - Nice 2022: Mads Pedersen wins uphill sprint, Laporte still leaderfoto: Cor VosThe route between Vierzon and Dun-le-Palestel is not entirely flat. Sam Bennett, Fabio Jakobsen and Dylan Groenewegen can't follow the pace before Mads Pedersen powers to the stage win on the false flat home straight. Christophe Laporte stays in yellow. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 3rd stage Paris-Nice 2022

1. Mads Pedersen (den)
2. Bryan Coquard (fra) s.t.
3. Wout van Aert (bel) s.t.
4. Jasper Philipsen (bel) s.t.
5. Anthony Turgis (fra) s.t.
6. Biniam Girmay Hailu (eri) s.t.
7. Fred Wright (gbr) s.t.
8. Danny van Poppel (nld) s.t.
9. Ethan Hayter (gbr) s.t.
10. Sebastián Molano (col) s.t.

GC after stage 3
1. Christophe Laporte (fra)
2. Wout van Aert (bel) + 0.01
3. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 0.09
4. Mads Pedersen (den) + 0.29
5. Bryan Coquard (fra) + 0.33
6. Pierre Latour (fra) s.t.
7. Zdenek Stybar (cze) + 0.38
8. Jaser Stuyven (bel) + 0.39
9. Aleksandr Vlasov(rus) s.t.
10. Florian Sénéchal (fra) s.t.

Race report
Six riders attack from the gun, but their freedom is short-lived. Thomas De Gendt, Owain Doull and Alexis Gougeard are more successful and they open up a 5 minutes gap.

De Gendt is the first rider over the Côte d’Éguzon and the Côte de Crozant.

Søren Kragh Andersen goes after the three when the gap has come down to 1 minute inside the last 35 kilometres. But the Dane is brought back after a 7 kilometres effort.

The trio is reeled in on the Côte d’Éguzon, while pure sprinters can’t follow the pace.

Strongmen sprinters come to the fore on the false flat home straight. Mads Pedersen outguns Bryan Coquard and Wout van Aert with a powerful performance. Yellow jersey Christophe Laporte hits the deck just before the finish, but the Frechman stays in the lead.

Another interesting read: route 3rd stage 2022 Paris-Nice.

Paris-Nice 2022 stage 3: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Mads Pedersen

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
GC Favourites - Paris - Nice 20 Overview - Paris-Nice 20 Yates wins thriller race, Roglic takes GC - Paris - Nice 20 Roglic wins at the Turini to cement lead - Paris - Nice 20 Close win Burgaudeau, Roglic stays in yellow - Paris - Nice 20 Solo victory McNulty, Roglic new leader - Paris - Nice 20 Stage 4: Starting times ITT - Paris - Nice 20 Van Aert powers to ITT win and leader's jersey - Paris - Nice 20 Jakobsen outsprints Van Aert, Laporte still leader - Paris - Nice 20 Laporte wins ahead of Roglic and Van Aert - Paris - Nice 20 Route stage 1: Mantes-la-Ville - Mantes-la-Ville - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 2: Auffargis - Orléans - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 4: Domérat - Montluçon - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 5: Saint-Just-Saint-Rambert - Saint-Sauveur-de-Montagut - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 6: Courthézon - Aubagne - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 7: Nice - Col de Turini - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 8: Nice - Nice - Paris-Nice 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!