Paris - Nice 2022: Jakobsen outsprints Van Aert, Laporte still leader

Fabio jakobsen pn - Paris - Nice 2022: Jakobsen outsprints Van Aert, Laporte still leaderfoto: Cor VosEchelons mark the 2nd stage of Paris-Nice before it comes down to a sprint in Orléans. Fabio Jakobsen takes the spoils, while Christophe Laporte stays in the overall race lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2nd stage Paris-Nice 2022

1. Fabio Jakobsen (nld)
2. Wout van Aert (bel) s.t.
3. Christophe Laporte (fra) s.t.
4. Luka Mezgec (slo) s.t.
5. Mads Pedersen (den) s.t.
6. Jasper Stuyven (bel) s.t.
7. Luca Mozzato (ita) s.t.
8. Sebastián Molano (col) z.t
9. Oliver Naesen (bel) s.t.
10. Cees Bol (nld) s.t.

53. Ion Izagirre (spa) + 0.38
65. Maximilian Schachmann (ger) + 1.29
66. Bauke Mollema (nld) s.t.
72. Brandon McNulty (usa) s.t.
110. Wout Poels (nld) + 6.43
149. David Gaudu (fra) + 9.52

GC after stage 2
1. Christophe Laporte (fra)
2. Wout van Aert (bel) + 0.05
3. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 0.11
4. Pierre Latour (fra) + 0.36
5. Zdenek Stybar (cze) + 0.38
6. Mads Pedersen (den) + 0.39
7. Jasper Stuyven (bel) s.t.
8. Florian Sénéchal (fra) s.t.
9. Bryan Coquard (fra) s.t.
10. Aleksandr Vlasov (rus) s.t.

Race report
KOM leader Matthew Holmes attacks almost from the gun. Alexis Gougeard follows his move, with Holmes’ team mate Philippe Gilbert right on his wheel. Holmes cements his KOM lead on the Côte des 17 Tournants and the Côte de Choisel.

The gap goes down fast when crosswinds rip the peloton apart. The three are caught by a first echelon of thirty men with 64 kilometres remaining. Laporte, Van Aert, Quintana, Küng, Fraile, Jakobsen, Martínez and Adam Yates are present at the front.

A second group, featuring Simon Yates, Aleksandr Vlasov and Sam Bennett, regain contact 43 kilometres before the finish, while the third group almost makes it back in the finale. Meanwile, Stefan Bissegger jumps off the front with 7 kilometres to go, but he is brought back.

In the ensuing sprint Jakobsen powers to an impressive victory ahead of Wout van Aert. Overnight leader Christophe Laporte finishes in third to extend his lead.

Another interesting read: route 2nd stage 2022 Paris-Nice.

Paris-Nice 2022 stage 2: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Fabio Jakobsen

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
GC Favourites - Paris - Nice 20 Overview - Paris-Nice 20 Yates wins thriller race, Roglic takes GC - Paris - Nice 20 Roglic wins at the Turini to cement lead - Paris - Nice 20 Close win Burgaudeau, Roglic stays in yellow - Paris - Nice 20 Solo victory McNulty, Roglic new leader - Paris - Nice 20 Stage 4: Starting times ITT - Paris - Nice 20 Van Aert powers to ITT win and leader's jersey - Paris - Nice 20 Mads Pedersen wins uphill sprint, Laporte still leader - Paris - Nice 20 Laporte wins ahead of Roglic and Van Aert - Paris - Nice 20 Route stage 1: Mantes-la-Ville - Mantes-la-Ville - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 3: Vierzon - Dun-le-Palestel - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 4: Domérat - Montluçon - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 5: Saint-Just-Saint-Rambert - Saint-Sauveur-de-Montagut - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 6: Courthézon - Aubagne - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 7: Nice - Col de Turini - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 8: Nice - Nice - Paris-Nice 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!