Paris-Nice 2022: The Route

Paris-Nice 2022Paris-Nice kicks into gear on Sunday 6 March to finish after eight stages on Sunday the 13th. As always, the Race to the Sun suits all tastes: sprinters, breakaway specialist, time trialists and climbers - they'll all find something to their liking.

Stage 1 of the Race to the Sun takes in four hills, the last which is crested with almost 6 kilometres remaining. The riders then plunge down to the flat run-in to the line.

Crosswinds are always lurking in Paris-Nice, especially in the early days when the route goes south. Stage 2 is a perfect example of this. Hardly remarkable in itself, but on a windy day echelons are going to rip apart the peloton.

The 3rd stage of Paris-Nice is flat in the first half and lumpy in the second, while the last 2 kilometres are a false flat run-in to the line.

The individual time trial takes place on the fourth day of action. Stage 4 is predominantly played out on undulating roads before the last 700 metres go up at 8.6%.

The Race to the Sun continues further south with stage 5. The riders tackle six intermediate climbs on a route that suits the breakaway specialists.

The longest race adds up to 213.6 kilometres. Stage 6 takes in five climbs, two of which extend to 10 kilometres. Another day for the breakaway, or so it seems.

The GC riders will have to come to the fore on the Queen Stage. The Turini Pass is the ultimate test – 14.9 kilometres at 7.3% with the finish located at an elevation of 1,607 metres. Extreme cold could be a major factor this early in the season.

At 115.6 kilometres and featuring five climbs, stage 8 offers explosive material. The last climb, Col d’Èze, is crested with 15 kilometres remaining before an ensuing downhill into Nice.

Paris-Nice 2022: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Yates wins thriller race, Roglic takes GC - Paris - Nice 20 Roglic wins at the Turini to cement lead - Paris - Nice 20 Close win Burgaudeau, Roglic stays in yellow - Paris - Nice 20 Solo victory McNulty, Roglic new leader - Paris - Nice 20 Stage 4: Starting times ITT - Paris - Nice 20 Van Aert powers to ITT win and leader's jersey - Paris - Nice 20 Mads Pedersen wins uphill sprint, Laporte still leader - Paris - Nice 20 Jakobsen outsprints Van Aert, Laporte still leader - Paris - Nice 20 Laporte wins ahead of Roglic and Van Aert - Paris - Nice 20 Route stage 1: Mantes-la-Ville - Mantes-la-Ville - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 2: Auffargis - Orléans - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 3: Vierzon - Dun-le-Palestel - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 4: Domérat - Montluçon - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 5: Saint-Just-Saint-Rambert - Saint-Sauveur-de-Montagut - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 6: Courthézon - Aubagne - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 7: Nice - Col de Turini - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 8: Nice - Nice - Paris-Nice 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!