Tour Down Under 2018 Route stage 6: Criterium in Adelaide

Tour Down Under 2018 stage 6Sunday, 21 January 2018 - The final stage of the Tour Down Under is unchanged from 2017. The riders race twenty laps of 4.5 kilometres through the centre of Adelaide. So the route amounts to 90 kilometres and the most likely winner is... Caleb Ewan, who won the last stage in 2016 and 2017.

If the GC is not a foregone matter the race will be extra thrilling thanks to the time bonuses. But if it is, it’s merely a case of not crashing before the sprinters duke it out on the slightly downhill finish.

Start and finish of the last stage are on King William Street, while Montefiore Hill is the only elevation. Not much though, the average gradient of the short hill is 2.53%.

André Greipel (2013, 2014), Wouter Wippert (2015) and Caleb Ewan (2016, 2017) took the flowers in last five editions, so it’s a safe bet to expect a bunch sprint.

Two intermediate sprints (at kilometre 36 and at kilometre 54) come with 3, 2 and 1 seconds, while the first three riders on the line take time bonuses of 10, 6 and 4 seconds.

Stage 6 of the 2018 Tour Down Under starts at 1:30 PM and the expected finish is at 3:30 PM – both are local times.

Read also: results/race report 6th stage 2018 Tour Down Under.

Tour Down Under 2018 stage 6: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tour Down Under 20 Overview - Tour Down Under 20 Porte wins at Willunga Hill, Impey new leader - Tour Down Under 20 Sagan sprints to stage win and leaders jersey at stage 4 - Tour Down Under 20 Viviani wins 3rd stage, Ewan still in overall lead - Tour Down Under 20 Caleb Ewan sprints to victory and leaders jersey - Tour Down Under 20 André Greipel outsprints Caleb Ewan in stage 1 - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 1: Port Adelaide – Lyndoch - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 2: Unley - Stirling - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 3: Glenelg - Victor Harbor - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 4: Norwood - Uraidla - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 5: McLaren Vale – Willunga Hill - Tour Down Under 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!