Tour Down Under 2018: Viviani wins 3rd stage, Ewan still in overall lead

The 120.5 kilometres stage to Victor Harbor boils down quite literally down to a bunch sprint. With temperatures soaring past 40 degrees the Italian outsprints Phil Bauhaus and Caleb Ewan, who retains the overall lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 3rd stage 2018 Tour Down Under

1. Elia Viviani (ita)
2. Phil Bauhaus (ger) s.t.
3. Caleb Ewan (aus) s.t.
4. Simone Consonni (ita) s.t.
5. Peter Sagan (svk) s.t.
6. Simon Clarke (aus) s.t.
7. Alexander Edmondson (aus) s.t.
8. Zakkari Dempster (aus) s.t.
9. Dries Devenyns (bel) s.t.
10. Jay McCarthy (aus) s.t.

GC after the 3rd stage
1. Caleb Ewan (aus)
2. Elia Viviani (ita) + 0.10
3. Daryl Impey (Zaf) + 0.14
4. Jay McCarthy (aus) + 0.15
5. Peter Sagan (svk) + 0.16
6. Nathan Haas (aus) + 0.17
7. Jhonatan Restrepo (col) + 0.19
8. Simone Consonni (ita) + 0.20
9. Robert Gesink (nld) s.t.
10. Anthony Roux (fra) s.t.

Race report
For the third consecutive day Nicholas Dlamini and Scott Bowden are active at the front. The South African gets dropped with more than 50 kms to go, while Bowden continues on solo, but just inside 20 kms he also stops his efforts.

In the ensuing sprint Ewan is is on his way to a a second consecutive win, or so it seems. But in the last 200 metres Elia Viviani comes sailing past to pocket the victory. Phil Bauhaus stops up second.

Read also: route 3rd stage 2018 Tour Down Under.

Tour Down Under 2018 stage 3: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Elia Viviani

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tour Down Under 20 Overview - Tour Down Under 20 André Greipel wins final stage, Impey takes overall - Tour Down Under 20 Porte wins at Willunga Hill, Impey new leader - Tour Down Under 20 Sagan sprints to stage win and leaders jersey at stage 4 - Tour Down Under 20 Caleb Ewan sprints to victory and leaders jersey - Tour Down Under 20 André Greipel outsprints Caleb Ewan in stage 1 - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 1: Port Adelaide – Lyndoch - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 2: Unley - Stirling - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 4: Norwood - Uraidla - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 5: McLaren Vale – Willunga Hill - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 6: Criterium in Adelaide - Tour Down Under 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!