Tour Down Under 2018: Porte wins at Willunga Hill, Impey new leader

At 151.5 kilometres, the route of stage 5 is a regular in the Tour Down Under. And Richie Porte is a regular winner atop the 3 kilometres final climb. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 5th stage 2018 Tour Down Under

1. Richie Porte (aus)
2. Daryl Impey (rsa) + 0.08
3. Tom-Jelte Slagter (nld) + 0.10
4. Dries Devenyns (bel) s.t.
5. Egan Bernal (col) s.t.
6. Gorka Izagirre (spa) s.t.
7. Diego Ulissi (ita) s.t.
8. Robert Gesink (nld) + 0.14
9. Ion Izagirre (spa) s.t.
10. Ruben Guerreiro (por) s.t.

GC after the 5th stage
1. Daryl Impey (aus)
2. Richie Porte (aus) s.t.
3. Tom-Jelte Slagter (nld) + 0.16
4. Diego Ulissi (ita) + 0.20
5. Dries Devenyns (bel) s.t.
6. Egan Bernal (col) s.t.
7. Gorka Izagirre (spa) s.t.
8. Robert Gesink (nld) + 0.24
9. George Bennett (nzl) s.t.
10. Ion Izagirre (spa) s.t.

Race report
Thomas De Gendt, Nicholas Dlamini, Scott Bowden, Mads Würtz Schmidt, Zakkari Dempster, Fumiyuki Beppu and Nuno Bico join forces to form the break of the day. At the first passage over Willunga Hill De Gendt is the last man standing, yet he is eventually reeled in with 10 kms to go.

Just before the last climb Porte is in disarray as the peloton accelerates in the crosswinds. Just before the road kicks up BMC regains control and Rohan Dennis sets the pace up the climb. Leader Peter Sagan is one of the first victims.

Porte attacks for the first time with 1.8 kms to go. When he goes again it is for good and he soles to the win. Behind him Diego Ulissi is very active, but Daryl Impey’s climb is very calculated – and strong. He finishes in second, 8 seconds down on Porte. On countback the South-African climbs into the leader’s jersey.

Read also: route 5th stage 2018 Tour Down Under.

Tour Down Under 2018 stage 5: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Richie Porte

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tour Down Under 20 Overview - Tour Down Under 20 André Greipel wins final stage, Impey takes overall - Tour Down Under 20 Sagan sprints to stage win and leaders jersey at stage 4 - Tour Down Under 20 Viviani wins 3rd stage, Ewan still in overall lead - Tour Down Under 20 Caleb Ewan sprints to victory and leaders jersey - Tour Down Under 20 André Greipel outsprints Caleb Ewan in stage 1 - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 1: Port Adelaide – Lyndoch - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 2: Unley - Stirling - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 3: Glenelg - Victor Harbor - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 4: Norwood - Uraidla - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 6: Criterium in Adelaide - Tour Down Under 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!