Tour Down Under 2018 Route stage 3: Glenelg - Victor Harbor

Tour Down Under 2018 etappe 3Thursday, 18 January 2018 - At 120.5 kilometres, the 3rd stage of the Tour Down Under runs from Glenelg to Victor Harbor. Expect a bunch sprint to ignite in the seaside town.

In the last six editions of the Tour Down Under, the race visited Victor Harbor four times, and on every occasion it was sprinters alert. André Greipel powered to glory in 2012 and 2014, Simon Gerrans outsprinted the bunch in 2016, while Caleb Ewan outgunned Peter Sagan and Niccolo Bonifazio in 2017.

Last year’s route was almost a copy of this year’s. The stage also left from Glenelg and the only difference is a small detour in wine region McLaren Vale, which leads the riders over Pennys Hill Road. At 2.8 kilometres an averaging 7.6%, this is the only KOM climb of the day.

The 3rd stage of the Tour Down Under ends on a local circuit of 13 kilometres with hardly any altitude gain. The circuit would have been raced three times, but due to extreme heat the organisation decided to limit it to one round. The circuit is flat as can be.

Two intermediate sprints – at kilometre 61.6 and at kilometres 88.3 – come with 3, 2 and 1 seconds each, while the first three riders on the line takes time bonuses of 10, 6 and 4 seconds.

Read also: results/race report 2018 Tour Down Under.

Tour Down Under 2018 stage 3: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tour Down Under 20 Overview - Tour Down Under 20 André Greipel wins final stage, Impey takes overall - Tour Down Under 20 Porte wins at Willunga Hill, Impey new leader - Tour Down Under 20 Sagan sprints to stage win and leaders jersey at stage 4 - Tour Down Under 20 Caleb Ewan sprints to victory and leaders jersey - Tour Down Under 20 André Greipel outsprints Caleb Ewan in stage 1 - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 1: Port Adelaide – Lyndoch - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 2: Unley - Stirling - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 4: Norwood - Uraidla - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 5: McLaren Vale – Willunga Hill - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 6: Criterium in Adelaide - Tour Down Under 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!