Tour Down Under 2018: André Greipel wins final stage, Impey takes overall

The Tour Down Under ends with the traditional Adelaide. André Greipel outsprints Caleb Ewan and Peter Sagan, while Daryl Impey wins the overall on countback ahead of Richie Porte. Tom-Jelte Slagter finishes in third. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 6th stage 2018 Tour Down Under

1. André Greipel (ger)
2. Caleb Ewan (aus) s.t.
3. Peter Sagan (svk) s.t.
4. Phil Bauhaus (ger) s.t.
5. Elia Viviani (ita) s.t.
6. Steel Von Hoff (aus) s.t.
7. Simone Consini (ita) s.t.
8. Mads Pedersen (den) s.t.
9. Carlos Barbero (spa) s.t.
10. Mads Würtz Schmidt (den) s.t.

Final GC 2018 Tour Down Under
1. Daryl Impey (aus)
2. Richie Porte (aus) s.t.
3. Tom-Jelte Slagter (nld) + 0.16
4. Diego Ulissi (ita) + 0.20
5. Dries Devenyns (bel) s.t.
6. Egan Bernal (col) s.t.
7. Gorka Izagirre (spa) s.t.
8. Luis León Sánchez (spa) + 0.23
9. Ruben Guerreiro (por) s.t.
10. Robert Gesink (nld) + 0.24

Race report
In the fifth of twenty laps in Adelaide seven riders go clear, yet Owen, Korsaeth and Didier remain out front. That is, they are caught in lap nine before Owen gives it another go with Ben O’Connor.

In the ensuing sprint Ewan takes off, but with Greipel on his wheel. The German takes the win, as he did on day one.

Tour Down Under 2018 stage 6: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Andre GreipelDaryl Impey

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tour Down Under 20 Overview - Tour Down Under 20 Porte wins at Willunga Hill, Impey new leader - Tour Down Under 20 Sagan sprints to stage win and leaders jersey at stage 4 - Tour Down Under 20 Viviani wins 3rd stage, Ewan still in overall lead - Tour Down Under 20 Caleb Ewan sprints to victory and leaders jersey - Tour Down Under 20 André Greipel outsprints Caleb Ewan in stage 1 - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 1: Port Adelaide – Lyndoch - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 2: Unley - Stirling - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 3: Glenelg - Victor Harbor - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 4: Norwood - Uraidla - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 5: McLaren Vale – Willunga Hill - Tour Down Under 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!