BinckBank Tour 2018 Stage 6: Gregor Mühlberger wins after late attack, Matej Mohoric retains lead

The BinckBank Tour's 6th stage is similar to the Amstel Gold Race. Following a hilly race in the south of the Netherlands Gregor Mühlberger attacks in the front group just before the last kilometre. He powers to victory, just ahead of Tim Wellens and Zdenek Stybar. Matej Mohoric holds on to the leaders jersey. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 6th stage 2018 BinckBank Tour

1. Gregor Mühlberger (aut)
2. Tim Wellens (bel) + 0.03
3. Zdenek Stybar (cze) s.t.
4. Dylan van Baarle (nld) s.t.
5. Maximilian Schachmann (ger) + 0.05
6. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) + 0.08
7. Søren Kragh Andersen (den) s.t.
8. Oliver Naesen (bel) + 0.11
9. Jay McCarthy (aus) s.t.
10. Mads Würtz Schmidt (den) s.t.

GC after the 6th stage
1. Matej Mohoric (slo)
2. Michael Matthews (aus) + 0.30
3. Taco van der Hoorn (nld) + 0.32
4. Søren Kragh Andersen (den) + 0.34
5. Maximilian Schachmann (ger) + 0.35
6. Maciej Bodnar (pol) + 0.36
7. Victor Campenaerts (bel) + s.t.
8. Tim Wellens (bel) + 0.37
9. Yves Lampaert (bel) + 0.43
10. Dylan van Baarle (nld) + 0.44

11. Gregor Mühlberger (aut) + 0.47
12. Jasper Stuyven (bel) + 0.52
13. Niki Terpstra (nld) + 0.53
14. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) + 0.55

Race report
Nothing sticks in the first tens of kilometres, but then Frederik Backaert, Matthias Brändle, Nick van der Lijcke and Alexis Gougeard take off. The four race to a maximum lead of 6 minutes before they are brought back with 48 kms remaining.

Timo Roosen and Maciej Bodnar are next to strike, while the peloton is down to some 50 riders. They take a lead of 1 minute, but in the Golden Kilometre – with 18 kilometres out – the gap is down to 37 seconds.

While Bodnar takes a time bonus of 9 seconds, Tim Wellens, Yves Lampaert and Jasper Stuyven go after them. Wellens wins 2 seconds and Stuyven 1. Michael Valgren and Stefan Küng hit the deck in the chasing group.

The three chasers rejoin the two leaders with 13 kms to go. Greg Van Avermaet and Michael Matthews bridge across a little later.

Wellens goes solo on the the last time up Windraak, while the main group catches his companions. He travels 15 seconds ahead of Zdenek Stybar over the last climb, the Watersley. The Czech gobbles up the Belgian and Dylan van Baarle and Gregor Mühlberger also bridge across.

Just before entering the final km Mühlberger attacks. He opens up a gap, which is enough for the stage win. Tim Wellens wins the sprint behind him, while the other favourites finish not too far behind.

Matej Mohoric finishes in the first peloton 11 seconds down on the winner. Heading into tomorrow’s last stage, the Slovenian retains the overall leader 30 seconds ahead of Michael Matthews.

Read also: route 6th stage 2018 BinckBank Tour.

BinckBank Tour 2018 stage 6: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - BinckBank Tour 20 Overview - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 7: Matthews wins final race, GC victory Mohoric - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 5: Cort wins three-up sprint, Mohoric still leader - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 4: Stuyven wins after late attack, Mohoric cements lead - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 3: Breakaway bests sprinters - stage win Taco van der Hoorn, Matej Mohoric new leader - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 2: Stefan Küng powers to ITT win and leader's jersey - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 1: Young Fabio Jakobsen outsprints Marcel Kittel - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 1: Heerenveen (nld) – Bolsward (nld) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 2: Venray (nld) – Venray (nld) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 3: Aalter (bel) – Antwerp (bel) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 4: Blankenberge (bel) – Ardooie (bel) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 5: Sint-Pieters-Leeuw (bel) – Lanaken (bel) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 7: Lacs de l’Eau d’Heure (bel) – Geraardsbergen (bel) - BinckBank Tour 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!