BinckBank Tour 2018: Favourites

The BinckBank Tour is the successor of the Eneco Tour. The race is held in Belgium and the Netherlands. A lot of former winners line up - Tim Wellens, Lars Boom, Niki Terpstra, Zdenek Stybar - but title holder Tom Dumoulin is not competing. Who are the major contenders to win the 2018 BinckBank Tour? (Slideshow route/profile)

[Underneath text was written before the start of the Binck Bank Tour and has not been updated.]

The BinckBank Tour features four chances for sprinters, but the general classification will come down to a flat ITT of 13 kilometres and two hilly races. One could argue the 6th stage is a BinckBank version of the Amstel Gold Race and the 7th stage is similar to the Tour of Flanders. So in terms of GC, the route of the BinckBank Tour is tailor made for Classics riders with chrono skills.

If you want to win the BinckBank Tour it helps is you are a kind of a jack-of-all-trades in the positive sense of the saying. Last year’s edition was won by Tom Dumoulin, but the runner-up of both the Giro d’Italia and Tour de France is not competing. Other former winners who do line up in the 2018 BinckBank Tour are Niki Terpstra (2016), Tim Wellens (2015, 2014), Zdenek Stybar (2013), and Lars Boom (2012).

Favourites 2018 BinckBank Tour

*** Tim Wellens, Jasper Stuyven, Michael Valgren
** Matej Mohoric, Zdenek Stybar, Niki Terpstra, Greg Van Avermaet
* Oliver Naesen, Søren Kragh Andersen, Lars Boom, Dylan van Baarle, Michael Matthews

BinckBank Tour 2018: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Stage 7: Matthews wins final race, GC victory Mohoric - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 6: Gregor Mühlberger wins after late attack, Matej Mohoric retains lead - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 5: Cort wins three-up sprint, Mohoric still leader - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 4: Stuyven wins after late attack, Mohoric cements lead - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 3: Breakaway bests sprinters - stage win Taco van der Hoorn, Matej Mohoric new leader - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 2: Stefan Küng powers to ITT win and leader's jersey - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 1: Young Fabio Jakobsen outsprints Marcel Kittel - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 1: Heerenveen (nld) – Bolsward (nld) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 2: Venray (nld) – Venray (nld) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 3: Aalter (bel) – Antwerp (bel) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 4: Blankenberge (bel) – Ardooie (bel) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 5: Sint-Pieters-Leeuw (bel) – Lanaken (bel) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 6: Riemst (bel) – Sittard/Geleen (nld) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 7: Lacs de l’Eau d’Heure (bel) – Geraardsbergen (bel) - BinckBank Tour 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!