BinckBank Tour 2018: The Route

BinckBank Tour 2018 stage 1The 2018 Binckbank Tour set off on Monday, August 13th, to finish on Sunday, the 19th. The seven-day stage race features a number of sprint races, while the decision in terms of GC will be made during a flat ITT on the second day two of action and two hilly legs in the final weekend.

The 1st stage of the BinckBank Tour is the first opportunity for fast men to shine. The race in Friesland, a northern province of the Netherlands, is flat from start to finish. The area is known for its strong winds.

Stage 2 on the BinckBank Tour is a flat out-and-back ITT in Venray, where Wout Poels was born, before the 3rd stage travels to Antwerp. The features some cobbles and is predominantly flat, so once again the sprinters will be eyeing up their chances.

The BinckBank Tour’s 4th stage is a race from Blankenberge to Ardooie, which is a tried and tested arrival for fast men. Peter Sagan sprinted to victory on the false flat arrival in 2016 and 2017. At 209.2 kilometres, the 5th stage is the longest race of the 2018 edition, while the hills loom in the final weekend.

Stage 6 features 25 climbs and runs from Riemst, Belgium, to Sittard-Geleen, the Netherlands. The last five hills are crammed within 13 kilometres and the last peak is crested 6.4 kilometres before the line.

The last stage of the BinckBank Tour travels to a finish halfway up the infamous Wall of Geraardsbergen. Resembling the Tour of Flanders, the route of the decisive 7th stage features sharp climbs and cobbles.

All stages, except the ITT, feature a Golden Kilometre, which is three intermediate sprints within 1,000 metres. Time bonuses of 3, 2 and 1 seconds are awarded for each sprint.

BinckBank Tour 2018: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Stage 7: Matthews wins final race, GC victory Mohoric - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 6: Gregor Mühlberger wins after late attack, Matej Mohoric retains lead - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 5: Cort wins three-up sprint, Mohoric still leader - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 4: Stuyven wins after late attack, Mohoric cements lead - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 3: Breakaway bests sprinters - stage win Taco van der Hoorn, Matej Mohoric new leader - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 2: Stefan Küng powers to ITT win and leader's jersey - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 1: Young Fabio Jakobsen outsprints Marcel Kittel - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 1: Heerenveen (nld) – Bolsward (nld) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 2: Venray (nld) – Venray (nld) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 3: Aalter (bel) – Antwerp (bel) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 4: Blankenberge (bel) – Ardooie (bel) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 5: Sint-Pieters-Leeuw (bel) – Lanaken (bel) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 6: Riemst (bel) – Sittard/Geleen (nld) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 7: Lacs de l’Eau d’Heure (bel) – Geraardsbergen (bel) - BinckBank Tour 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!