BinckBank Tour 2018 Route stage 5: Sint-Pieters-Leeuw (bel) – Lanaken (bel)

BinckBank Tour 2018 stage 5Friday, 17 August 2018 - Amounting to 209.2 kilometres, the 5th stage of the BinckBank Tour is the longest race of this edition. On rolling roads the route runs from Sint-Pieters-Leeuw to a slightly uphill arrival in Lanaken.

Departure Sint-Pieters-Leeuw hosted the race once before. Two years ago the last stage left from the town just south of Brussels for a race to the Wall of Geraardsbergen. This time the route travels to Lanaken in the eastern part of Belgium, close to the Dutch border.

The BinckBank Tour – and its predecessor Eneco Tour – visited Lanakan twice before. Last year, Edward Theuns outgunned Marko Kump and Tim Merlier in a bunch sprint, while the 2016 edition saw Luka Pibernik bring the early break home in a three-up sprint with Mark McNally and Bert Van Lerberghe.

Stage 5 in the BinckBank Tour of 2018 is an undulating affair. At kilometre 19 the riders climb 800 metres at 5% and with that the only KOM-points of the day are gone. At kilometre 172.9 the route crosses the finish line for the first time before the race ends with two local rounds of 12.1 kilometres. The last 300 metres climb false flat.

Starting at kilometre 191.1, the Golden Kilometre offers three opportunities to win time bonuses of 3, 2 and 1 seconds within 1,000 metres. The first three riders on the line take 10, 6 and 4 seconds.

Read also:  results/race report 5th stage 2018 BinckBank Tour.

BinckBank Tour 2018 stage 5: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - BinckBank Tour 20 Overview - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 7: Matthews wins final race, GC victory Mohoric - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 6: Gregor Mühlberger wins after late attack, Matej Mohoric retains lead - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 4: Stuyven wins after late attack, Mohoric cements lead - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 3: Breakaway bests sprinters - stage win Taco van der Hoorn, Matej Mohoric new leader - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 2: Stefan Küng powers to ITT win and leader's jersey - BinckBank Tour 20 Stage 1: Young Fabio Jakobsen outsprints Marcel Kittel - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 1: Heerenveen (nld) – Bolsward (nld) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 2: Venray (nld) – Venray (nld) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 3: Aalter (bel) – Antwerp (bel) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 4: Blankenberge (bel) – Ardooie (bel) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 6: Riemst (bel) – Sittard/Geleen (nld) - BinckBank Tour 20 Route stage 7: Lacs de l’Eau d’Heure (bel) – Geraardsbergen (bel) - BinckBank Tour 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!