Ruta del Sol 2022: Poels outsprints Lutsenko to take race lead

Wout poels - Ruta del Sol 2022: Poels outsprints Lutsenko to take race leadfoto: Cor VosWout Poels and Alexey Lutsenko attack from the breakway in the finale. The Dutchman outsprints the Kazach on the line and moves into the overall race lead, 10 seconds ahead of Miguel Ángel López. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 4th stage Ruta del Sol 2022

1. Wout Poels (nld)
2. Alexey Lutsenko (kaz) s.t.
3. Mauri Vansevenant (bel) + 0.18
4. Simon Yates (gbr) s.t.
5. Damiano Caruso (ita) s.t.
6. Cristián Rodríguez (spa) s.t.
7. Jack Haig (aus) s.t.
8. Iván Sosa (col) s.t.
9. Ben O’Connor (aus) s.t.
10. Miguel Ángel López (col) s.t.

GC after stage 4
1. Wout Poels (nld)
2. Miguel Ángel López (col) + 0.10
3. Cristián Rodríguez (spa) + 0.12
4. Jack Haig (aus) s.t.
5. Iván Sosa (col) s.t.
6. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) s.t.
7. Simon Yates (gbr) + 0.21
8. Ben O’Connor (aus) s.t.
9. Alexey Loetsenko (kaz) + 0.24
10. Mauri Vansevenant (bel) + 0.27

Race report
The most prominent GC riders use the mountainous first part to put pressure on leader Alessandro Covi. A group of fourteen riders – Miguel Ángel López, Carlos Rodriguez, Simon Yates, Ben O’Connor, Iván Sosa, Jack Haig, Wout Poels, Alexey Lutsenko, Harold Tejada, Mikel Landa, Damiano Caruso, Mauri Vansevenant, Jefferson Cepeda, Christián Rodríguez – carve out a lead of 4 minutes.

With 20 kilometres to go the first attacks from the breakaway take place. Following a number of neutralised moves, Poels and Lutsenko open up a gap of half a minute.

Poels opens the sprint in Baza and holds off Lutsenko. As a bonus the Dutchman is the new race leader, 10 seconds ahead of ‘Superman’ López.

Another interesting read: route 4th stage 2022 Ruta del Sol.

Ruta del Sol 2022 – stage 4: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Wout Poels

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
GC Favourites - Ruta del Sol 20 Overview - Ruta del Sol 20 Kämna climbs to victory, Poels seals GC - Ruta del Sol 20 Sheffield wins with late attack, Covi keeps lead - Ruta del Sol 20 Covi climbs into leader's jersey - Ruta del Sol 20 Young Rune Herregodts wins stage 1 - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 1: Ubrique - Iznájar - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 2: Archidona - Alcalá la Real - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 3: Lucena - Otura - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 5: Huesa - Chiclana de Segura - Ruta del Sol 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!