Ruta del Sol 2022: GC Favourites

Michael Woods - Ruta del Sol 2022: GC Favouritesfoto: Cor VosThe 2022 edition of the Ruta del Sol is a race for punchers and climbers. brings you the favourites to win the Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta Ciclista del Sol.

[Underneath article was written before the start of the Ruta del Sol and has not been updated]

The GC battle is expected to come down to the first two days and last day of action. These three races all finish uphill. Stage 1 and stage 2 serve short and sharp climbs to the line, while the 5th and last stage finishes on an ascent of 6.4 kilometres at 5.6%.

Arguably, the race kicks into gear with the toughest race of five. Featuring more than 200 kilometres and almost 3,500 vertical metres, the 1st stage is certainly going to reveal the on-form riders.

Title defender ‘Superman’ López (2021) is the only participant who did win the Ruta del Sol before.

Favourites Ruta del Sol 2022
*** Carlos Rodriguez, Alexey Lutsenko, Michael Woods
** Miguel Ángel López, Mikel Landa, Simon Yates
* Wout Poels, Jack Haig, Emanuel Buchmann, Ben O’Connor

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Kämna climbs to victory, Poels seals GC - Ruta del Sol 20 Poels outsprints Lutsenko to take race lead - Ruta del Sol 20 Sheffield wins with late attack, Covi keeps lead - Ruta del Sol 20 Covi climbs into leader's jersey - Ruta del Sol 20 Young Rune Herregodts wins stage 1 - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 1: Ubrique - Iznájar - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 2: Archidona - Alcalá la Real - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 3: Lucena - Otura - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 4: Cúllar Vega - Baza - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 5: Huesa - Chiclana de Segura - Ruta del Sol 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!