Ruta del Sol 2022: The Route

Miguel Angel lopez - Ruta del Sol 2022: The Routeimage: Cor VosAs always, the Ruta del Sol - aka the Vuelta a Andalucía - served a mountainous route. No time trial, but three uphill finishes accounted for selective racing. The race kicked into gear on Wednesday 16 February to finish next Sunday the 20th with Miguel Ángel Lopez as title defender. (Slideshow route/profile)

The Ruta del Sol returns to its original time slot in February after last year’s May edition.

At 201 kilometres, stage 1 is the longest of this edition. After a series of intermediate ascents the finish lies on a 1.3 kilometres climb to the line. Gonzalo Serrano won here two years ago.

The 2nd stage crosses a number of passes as well, and the finale is also similar. The last kilometre goes up at an unforgiving 11.5%. Ethan Hayter won here last year.

The sprinters are likely to have it their way in the 3rd stage of the Ruta del Sol, while stage 4 is mountainous in the first part and rolling in the second.

The last stage of the Ruta del Sol is packed with three classified climbs and a number of unlabeled ascents, including the toil to the line. The last race features roughly 2,900 metres of climbing.

Ruta del Sol 2022: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Kämna climbs to victory, Poels seals GC - Ruta del Sol 20 Poels outsprints Lutsenko to take race lead - Ruta del Sol 20 Sheffield wins with late attack, Covi keeps lead - Ruta del Sol 20 Covi climbs into leader's jersey - Ruta del Sol 20 Young Rune Herregodts wins stage 1 - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 1: Ubrique - Iznájar - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 2: Archidona - Alcalá la Real - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 3: Lucena - Otura - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 4: Cúllar Vega - Baza - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 5: Huesa - Chiclana de Segura - Ruta del Sol 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!