Ruta del Sol 2022: Covi climbs into leader’s jersey

Alessandro Covi - Ruta del Sol 2022: Covi climbs into leader's jerseyfoto: Cor VosThe 2nd stage of the Ruta del Sol boils down to the steep finish climb. Alessandro Covi attacks inside the last kilometre to solo to victory. The Italian is the new GC leader. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2nd stage Ruta del Sol 2022

1. Alessandro Covi (ita)
2. Miguel Ángel López (col) + 0.03
3. Iván Sosa (col) + 0.04
4. Jack Haig (aus) s.t.
5. Steff Crass (bel) + 0.05
6. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) s.t.
7. Dries Devenyns (bel) s.t.
8. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) s.t.
9. Simon Clarke (aus) s.t.
10. Cristián Rodríguez (spa) s.t.

GC after stage 2
1. Alessandro Covi (ita)
2. Ander Okamika (spa) + 0.05
3. Miguel Ángel López (col) + 0.08
4. Iván Sosa (col) + 0.10
5. Dries Devenyns (bel) + 0.11
6. Simon Clarke (aus) s.t.
7. Steff Crass (bel) s.t.
8. Cristián Rodríguez (spa) s.t.
9. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) s.t.
10. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) s.t.

Race report
Hoping for a similar result as yesterday, Kamil Malecki, Gotzon Martín, Raúl García Pierna, Diego Pablo Sevilla and Jon Barrenetxea join the breakaway. The five open up a gap of roughly 4 minutes.

The leaders are reeled in inside the last 10 kilometres.

Overnight leader Herregodts can’t follow the pace on the early slopes of the finish climb.

Poels is the first to strike inside the final kilometre. But when Covi takes over there is no stopping the 23-year old Italian. He wins the stage ahead of López and moves into the leader’s jersey.

Another interesting read: route 2nd stage 2022 Ruta del Sol.

Ruta del Sol 2022 – stage 2: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Alessandro Covi

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
GC Favourites - Ruta del Sol 20 Overview - Ruta del Sol 20 Kämna climbs to victory, Poels seals GC - Ruta del Sol 20 Poels outsprints Lutsenko to take race lead - Ruta del Sol 20 Sheffield wins with late attack, Covi keeps lead - Ruta del Sol 20 Young Rune Herregodts wins stage 1 - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 1: Ubrique - Iznájar - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 3: Lucena - Otura - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 4: Cúllar Vega - Baza - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 5: Huesa - Chiclana de Segura - Ruta del Sol 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!