Paris-Nice 2017: De la Cruz wins ahead of Contador, Henao overall winner

Stage 8 is a short race with five tough climbs. Contador attacks with two climbs to go and after compelling racing he finishes in second. Yet, he ends the Race to the Sun 2 seconds down on winner Sergio Henao. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 8th stage Paris-Nice

1. David de la Cruz (spa)
2. Alberto Contador (spa) s.t.
3. Marc Soler (spa) + 0.05
4. Sonny Colbrelli (ita) + 0.21
5. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) s.t.
6. Michael Matthews (aus) s.t.
7. Diego Ulissi (ita) s.t.
8. Gorka Izagirre (spa) s.t.
9. Arnold Jeannesson (fra) s.t.
10. Lilian Calmejane (fra) s.t.

12. Sergio Henao (col) s.t.
13. Daniel Martin (irl) s.t.

Final GC Parijs-Nice 2017
1. Sergio Henao (col)
2. Alberto Contador (spa) + 0.02
3. Daniel Martin (irl) + 0.30
4. Gorka Izagirre (spa) + 1.00
5. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) + 1.22
6. Ilnur Zakarin (rus) + 1.34
7. Ion Izagirre (spa) + 1.41
8. Warren Barguil (fra) + 4.07
9. Simon Yates (gbr) + 4.39
10. Tony Gallopin (fra) + 9.14

Race report
While climbing Côte de Levens Jose Herrada, KOM-leader Lilian Calmejane, Michael Woods and Arnold Jeannesson go on the attack. Thomas De Gendt and David De la Cruz join them, while Woods is dropped.

Another 19 riders accompany the five riders in the front group. Michael Matthews is one of them, while the others are De Marchi, Colbrelli, Frank, Herrada, Soler, Sutherland, Woods (he’s back), Lutsenko, Edet, Ulissi, Petilli, Pauwels, Mendes, Chavanel, Perichon, El Fares, Pacher, Domont and Slagter.

They race to a lead of more than 3 minutes, but at Côte de Peille they are brought back when Alberto Contador goes on the attack. Sergio Henao can’t follow the pace. When cresting he is 40 seconds down on Contador. Dan Martin is forced to chase as well.

When tackling the Col d’Eze the front group features Contador, De Gendt, De Marchi, Colbrelli, De la Cruz, Soler, Edet, Matthews, Ulissi, Petilli, Calmejane, Chavanel, Jeannesson and El Fares. Henao and Martin are 50 seconds in arrears and the gap widens.

When Contador, De la Cruz and Soler are the last remaining leaders, Soler goes solo. On the top Contador takes a time bonus of 2 seconds. Gap once again at around 50 seconds.

Henao comes closer in the descent, while Contador and De la Cruz re-join Soler. In the last kms Contador goes alone, but his compatriot De la Cruz hooks uo at the eleventh hour. That’s the difference between winning and losing the Race to the Sun. De la Cruz outsprints Contador and so El Pistolero receives a time bonus of 6 instead of 10 seconds. Since Henao’s descent is outstanding he finishes 21 seconds down on the two Spaniards, which earns him the overall win in Paris-Nice 2017 with a margin of 2 seconds.

Read about the route of the 8th stage of Paris-Nice 2017.

Paris-Nice 2017 stage 8: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

David de la Cruz

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Paris-Nice 2017 Overview - Paris-Nice 2017 Porte climbs to victory in Queen Stage, Sergio Henao new leader - Paris-Nice 2017 Simon Yates solos to victory, Alaphilippe still in yellow - Paris-Nice 2017 Greipel outsprints Démare and Groenewegen, Alaphilippe still leader - Paris-Nice 2017 Alaphilippe powers to victory and leaders jersey in ITT - Paris-Nice 2017 Sam Bennett outsprints Kristoff and Degenkolb - Paris-Nice 2017 Colbrelli outsprints Degenkolb after rain soaked race - Paris-Nice 2017 Démare bests Alaphilippe in sprint-à-deux - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 1: Bois d’Arcy – Bois d’Arcy - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 2: Rochefort en Yvelines – Amilly (Loiret) - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 3: Chablis – Chalon sur Saône - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 4: Beaujeu – Mont Brouilly - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 5: Quincié en Beaujolais – Bourg de Péage - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 6: Aubagne – Fayence - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 7: Nice – Col de la Couillole - Paris-Nice 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!