Paris-Nice 2017: Colbrelli outsprints Degenkolb after rain soaked race

At 195 kilometres, the 2nd stage in Paris-Nice is a rain soaked race in horrible conditions. Echelons all over the place, but eventually the race boils down to a bunch sprint with Sonny Colbrelli fastest. Arnaud Démare retains in the overall lead, while Richie Porte is out of GC-contention. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2nd stage Paris-Nice

1. Sonny Colbrelli (ita)
2. John Degenkolb (ger) s.t.
3. Arnaud Démare (fra) s.t.
4. Dylan Groenewegen (nld) s.t.
5. Christophe Laporte (fra) s.t.
6. Matti Breschel (den) s.t.
7. Oliver Naesen (bel) s.t.
8. André Greipel (ger) s.t.
9. Alexander Kristoff (nor) s.t.
10. Evaldas Siskevicius (lit) s.t.

103. Richie Porte (aus) + 14.16
137. Nicolas Roche (irl) s.t.

GC after 2nd stage
1. Arnaud Démare (fra)
2. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) + 0.06
3. Philippe Gilbert (bel) + 0.17
4. Alexander Kristoff (nor) + 0.19
5. Tony Gallopin (fra) s.t.
6. Romain Hardy (fra) + 0.21
7. Daniel Martin (irl) + 0.23
8. Sergio Henao (col) s.t.
9. Rudy Molard (fra) s.t.
10. Kristjan Koren (slo) + 0.31

15. Ilnur Zakarin (rus) + 1.01
17. Warren Barguil (fra) + 1.17
19. Alberto Contador (spa) + 1.18
20. Ion Izagirre (spa) s.t.
21. Simon Yates (gbr) s.t.
27. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 2.42

Race report
In horrible weather Naesen, Soler, Koren, Simon, Oomen, Mori, Berhane, Hardy and Delio Fernandez go on the attack on the only climb of the day. Hardy is the first to crest, thus cementing his KOM-lead.

The pace is high and the peloton breaks in several group. The first echelon, with leader Démare, brings back the escapees. After a number of changes the first group features GC-favourites Gallopin, Alaphilippe, Zakarin and Henao. Bad news for the likes of Contador, Simon Yates and Dan Martin, who are stuck in a group 2 minutes down on the leaders. After a long chase they are back in contention with around 50 kms to go. But not Porte though, the Tasmanian is 5 minutes down on the front of the race.

When the groups melt together Wynants, Gallopin, Bystrøm, Sarreau and Siskevicius are off, while Gilbert re-joins them. Sarreau punctures and the five leaders race to a lead at over 1 minute.

When the gap is down to half a minute, Gilbert goes solo but he is reeled in with 7 kms remaining and the race boils down to a bunch sprint. 26-yo Sonny Colbrelli tops Degenkolb and Démare to take his first win in the 2017 season.

Check out the route of stage 2 in Paris-Nice 2017.

Paris-Nice 2017 stage 2: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Sonny Colbrelli

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Paris-Nice 2017 Overview - Paris-Nice 2017 De la Cruz wins ahead of Contador, Henao overall winner - Paris-Nice 2017 Porte climbs to victory in Queen Stage, Sergio Henao new leader - Paris-Nice 2017 Simon Yates solos to victory, Alaphilippe still in yellow - Paris-Nice 2017 Greipel outsprints Démare and Groenewegen, Alaphilippe still leader - Paris-Nice 2017 Alaphilippe powers to victory and leaders jersey in ITT - Paris-Nice 2017 Sam Bennett outsprints Kristoff and Degenkolb - Paris-Nice 2017 Démare bests Alaphilippe in sprint-à-deux - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 1: Bois d’Arcy – Bois d’Arcy - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 3: Chablis – Chalon sur Saône - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 4: Beaujeu – Mont Brouilly - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 5: Quincié en Beaujolais – Bourg de Péage - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 6: Aubagne – Fayence - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 7: Nice – Col de la Couillole - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 8: Nice – Nice - Paris-Nice 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!