Paris-Nice 2017: Simon Yates solos to victory, Alaphilippe still in yellow

The 192 kilometres route of the 6th stage in Paris-Nice taking in six climbs, while the summit finish is on a punchy climb in Fayence. Simon Yates goes on the attack on the penultimate climb to solo to an impressive victory. Sergio Henao comes in second, while Julian Alaphilippe holds on to the leaders jersey. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 6th stage Paris-Nice 2017

1. Simon Yates (gbr)
2. Sergio Henao (col) + 0.17
3. Richie Porte (aus) + 0.26
4. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) + 0.29
5. Daniel Martin (irl) s.t.
6. Ion Izagirre (spa) + 0.32
7. Jakob Fuglsang (den) s.t.
8. Alberto Contador (spa) s.t.
9. Ilnur Zakarin (rus) s.t.
10. Tony Gallopin (fra) s.t.

12. Gorka Izagirre (spa) + 0.39
13. Warren Barguil (fra) s.t.

GC after 6th stage
1. Julian Alaphilippe (fra)
2. Tony Gallopin (fra) + 0.36
3. Sergio Henao (col) + 0.46
4. Gorka Izagirre (spa) + 0.57
5. Daniel Martin (irl) + 1.20
6. Ilnur Zakarin (rus) + 1.28
7. Alberto Contador (spa) + 1.34
8. Simon Yates (gbr) + 1.37
9. Ion Izagirre (spa) + 2.04
10. Warren Barguil (fra) + 3.08

Race report
Following two failed attempts Alessandro De Marchi, Axel Domont, Winner Anacona, José Herrada, Michael Valgren, Ben Swift, Sylvain Chavanel and Eduardo Sepulveda attack with soms 50 kms done. They race to a lead of some 5 minutes.

Sepulveda and De Marchi are the last remaining leaders and they are brought back with 21 kms to go.

Simon Yates attacks just before the top of the Col de Bourigaille and he powers to a lead of 46 seconds when hitting the Wall of Fayence.

It’s enough for a glorious win. Sergio Henao goes after him on the steep ramps, but the Colombian can’t close the gap. Yet he does manage to put 12 seconds into Alaphilippe and takes a time bonus of 6 seconds, so he comes closer in the overall. Still, the 24-yo Frenchman must be pleased as he finishes 3 seconds ahead of most other GC-contenders.

Read about the route of the 6th stage of Paris-Nice 2017.

Paris – Nice 2017 stage 6: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Simon Yates

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Paris-Nice 2017 Overview - Paris-Nice 2017 De la Cruz wins ahead of Contador, Henao overall winner - Paris-Nice 2017 Porte climbs to victory in Queen Stage, Sergio Henao new leader - Paris-Nice 2017 Greipel outsprints Démare and Groenewegen, Alaphilippe still leader - Paris-Nice 2017 Alaphilippe powers to victory and leaders jersey in ITT - Paris-Nice 2017 Sam Bennett outsprints Kristoff and Degenkolb - Paris-Nice 2017 Colbrelli outsprints Degenkolb after rain soaked race - Paris-Nice 2017 Démare bests Alaphilippe in sprint-à-deux - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 1: Bois d’Arcy – Bois d’Arcy - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 2: Rochefort en Yvelines – Amilly (Loiret) - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 3: Chablis – Chalon sur Saône - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 4: Beaujeu – Mont Brouilly - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 5: Quincié en Beaujolais – Bourg de Péage - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 7: Nice – Col de la Couillole - Paris-Nice 2017 Route stage 8: Nice – Nice - Paris-Nice 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!