Tour of Britain 2019 Route stage 1: Glasgow - Kirkcudbright

Tour of Britain stage 1Saturday 7 September - The Tour of Britain begins with the longest race. At 201.5 kilometres, the route runs from Glasgow to a likely sprint finish in Kirkcudbright. Or are we going see a successful late attack?

It is a first for Kirkcudbright as the harbour town on the Solway coast never hosted the Tour of Britain before. The opening leg sets off from George Square in Glasgow though. After a lap in the city centre the riders head south through Renfrewshire, East Ayrshire and South Ayrshire.

The route includes three KOM ascents. The 2.7 kilometres climb on Lambdoughty Hill is crested around halfway, while the 5 kilometres drag up Dalmellington is crested just before crossing into Dumfries & Galloway with 82.5 kilometres to go. So these uphills won’t have any lasting effect.

The Bankhead hill is something else though. Placed 12.5 kilometres before the finish, it could provide a launch pad for a late attack. The route does not descent into Kirkcudbright straight away. Another short kick up leads to a rolling section and, eventually, a technical descent. The last 2 kilometres are played out on the flat.

The first three riders on the line gain time bonuses of 10, 6 and 4 seconds, while the intermediate sprints (at kilometre 43.6, at kilometre 112.5, and at kilometre 128.7) come with 3, 2 and 1 seconds.

The 1st stage of the Tour of Britain starts at 10.45 and the race is expected to finish at 15.30 – both are local times (BST).

Tour of Britain 2019 stage 1: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Route stage 2: Kelso - Kelso - Tour of Britain 2019 Route stage 3: Berwick-upon-Tweed - Newcastle-upon-Tyne - Tour of Britain 2019 Route stage 4: Gateshead - Kendal - Tour of Britain 2019 Route stage 5: Birkenhead - Birkenhead - Tour of Britain 2019 Route stage 6: Pershore ITT - Tour of Britain 2019 Route stage 7: Warwick - Burton Dassett - Tour of Britain 2019 Route stage 8: Altrincham - Manchester - Tour of Britain 2019
More articles