Tour Down Under 2020: Second sprint victory Ewan, Porte still leader

Following 110 lumpy kilometres the route of the 4th stage evens out in the last 40 kilometres. Caleb Ewan ignites the afterburners to power to his second stage win, besting Sam Bennett and Jasper Phillipsen. Richie Porte stays in the overal lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 4th stage Tour Down Under

1. Caleb Ewan (aus) s.t.
2. Sam Bennett (irl) s.t.
3. Jasper Philipsen (bel) s.t.
4. Andre Greipel (Ger) s.t.
5. Alberto Dainese (ita) s.t.
6. Martin Laas (est) s.t.
7. Giacomo Nizzolo (ita) s.t.
8. Erik Baska (slo) s.t.
9. Marc Sarreau (fra) s.t.
10. Michael Mørkøv (den) s.t.

1. Richie Porte (aus)
2. Daryl Impey (rsa) + 0.03
3. Robert Power (aus) + 0.08
4. Simon Yates (gbr) + 0.11
5. George Bennett (nzl) + 0.14
6. Diego Ulissi (ita) + 0.15
7. Simon Geschke (ger) + 0.15
8. Rohan Dennis (aus) + 0.15
9. Dylan van Baarle (nld) + 0.15
10. Lucas Hamilton (nzl) + 0.23

Race report
Laurens De Vreese accelerates off the front as soon as the flag drops, but he is chased down after 6 kilometres. The peloton stays together for the two intermediate sprints, which are both inside the first 41 kilometres. Daryl Impey manages third and second, thus shaving 3 seconds off his deficit to leader Richie Porte.

Things calm down and the break of the day takes the shape of Joey Rosskopf, James Piccoli, Laurens De Vreese, Jorge Arcas and Sergio Samitier. The five open up a gap of 3 minutes before the peloton makes the catch with 25 kilometres to go.

Michael Mørkøv leads out Caleb Ewan and, despite an early jump by Sam Bennett, the Australian powers to his second stage win in this year’s Tour Down Under.

Richie Porte still leads the GC.

Another interesting read: route 4th stage Tour Down Under 2020.

Tour Down Under 2020 stage 4: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Caleb Ewan

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tour Down Under 2020 Overview - Tour Down Under 2020 Holmes wins on Willunga Hill, Porte takes overall - Tour Down Under 2020 Nizzolo wins final sprint, Impey new leader - Tour Down Under 2020 Porte climbs to leader's jersey in Paracombe - Tour Down Under 2020 Ewan outguns Impey in uphill sprint to move into race lead - Tour Down Under 2020 Bennett sprints to first ochre jersey - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 1: Tanunda – Tanunda - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 2: Woodside – Stirling - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 3: Unley – Paracombe - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 5: Glenelg – Victor Harbor - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 6: McLaren Vale – Willunga Hill - Tour Down Under 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!